Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

    This is a discussion on Noise Margin rises... slower speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there For 2 weeks now my Noise Margin suddenly changed from a healthy 6.9-7 db to 9-10 db. The ...

    1. #1
      Grade's Avatar
      Grade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Hi there

      For 2 weeks now my Noise Margin suddenly changed from a healthy 6.9-7 db to 9-10 db. The increase in the "db" has drasticaly slowed my connection speed down to 400-500 kbs from about 7000-8000. When i reboot the router, it goes to 6.9 db for a couple of seconds, then shoots up to 9.3-9.4 and things go downhill from there. I haven't changed a single thing to my internet, it's been running perfectly fine for a whole year until now.

      I'm a bit cautious to ring Sky, as a close friend of mine did and Sky capped his speed down to dial-up speed.


      Any suggestions to what has happened, or if there's any sort of fix? I've upgraded the firmware, and using TCPOptimizer currently if that helps at all.


      Thanks.
      Last edited by Grade; 01-06-08 at 11:10 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      We'll need your router stats to see what SNR, Attentuation etc you have.

    4. #3
      Grade's Avatar
      Grade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Here's my current stats:



      The speed fluctuates A LOT. It goes up to about 1 meg for a couple of seconds, then instantly drops down to 20-30kbs. Seems like it's struggling to maintain it's speed? Any help would be grand, thank you .

      I can post more detailed stats if it would help further.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      may help if you could post the detailed stats (use mel's notes), there is a lot more info on those
      could you also confirm where you plug your router in (extention socket / mater socket / test socket)

    6. #5
      Grade's Avatar
      Grade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Ok, here's the detailed stats, and router is plugged into the main socket.


      Code:
      ppp0      Link encap:Point-Point Protocol  
                inet addr:90.192.48.20  P-t-P:195.189.158.54  Mask:255.255.255.255
                UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
                RX packets:90284 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
                TX packets:73730 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
                collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
                RX bytes:104161147 (99.3 MiB)  TX bytes:8312700 (7.9 MiB)
      
      Uptime 46949.10 46712.30
      Wan up 94.52 74.60
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason:	0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4165 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			ADSL2+
      Channel:		Fast
      Trellis:		U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	10.2		13.0
      Attn(dB):	39.0		22.5
      Pwr(dBm):	0.0		12.8
      Max(Kbps):	5160		864
      Rate (Kbps):	4165		764
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		121(0)		24
      R:		12		16
      S:		2		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		64		68
      B:		120		23
      M:		2		8
      T:		1		1
      R:		12		16
      S:		1.8439		7.7037
      L:		1102		216
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		2908171		2760063
      SFErr:		360988		10
      RS:		101785996		2877201
      RSCorr:		82439981		71
      RSUnCorr:	1795648		0
      
      HEC:		290874		26
      OCD:		1		0
      LCD:		0		0
      Total Cells:	459677544		84627164
      Data Cells:	2370376		252129
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		45135		5
      SES:		69		0
      UAS:		18		22
      AS:		46923
      
      INP:		2.78		2.37
      PER:		16.13		17.81
      delay:		29.50		15.40
      OR:		34.70		33.23
      
      Bitswap:	78		936
      
      Total time = 13 hours 2 min 29 sec
      SF  = 2908171
      CRC = 360988
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 45135
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 2 min 29 sec
      SF  = 2908171
      CRC = 360988
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 45135
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 29 sec
      SF  = 9201
      CRC = 1589
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 139
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55825
      CRC = 8762
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 860
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF  = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55762
      CRC = 8221
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 867
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55763
      CRC = 7396
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 862
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 55762
      CRC = 7430
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 871
      Showtime Drop Reason:	0
      Last Retrain Reason:	0

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      you are showing lots of errors, could you do a comparison set of stats from your test socket (see first link in my sig)

    8. #7
      Grade's Avatar
      Grade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Ok, this is pretty shocking my speed shot up A LOT when I put it in the test socket. Results:



      Code:
      ppp0      Link encap:Point-Point Protocol  
                inet addr:90.201.143.242  P-t-P:195.189.158.54  Mask:255.255.255.255
                UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
                RX packets:7029 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
                TX packets:4420 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
                collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
                RX bytes:9556203 (9.1 MiB)  TX bytes:1197059 (1.1 MiB)
      
      Uptime 1908.29 1677.91
      Wan up 1784.47 1579.11
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason:	1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9677 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode:			ADSL2+
      Channel:		Fast
      Trellis:		U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status:		No Defect
      Training Status:	Showtime
      		Down		Up
      SNR (dB):	7.1		13.0
      Attn(dB):	38.5		22.3
      Pwr(dBm):	1.3		12.8
      Max(Kbps):	11516		864
      Rate (Kbps):	9677		764
      			G.dmt framing
      K:		115(0)		24
      R:		12		16
      S:		2		8
      D:		64		8
      			ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:		51		68
      B:		114		23
      M:		2		8
      T:		3		1
      R:		12		16
      S:		0.7583		7.7037
      L:		2553		216
      D:		64		8
      			Counters
      SF:		9961		9498
      SFErr:		4		1
      RS:		851722		83808
      RSCorr:		193		0
      RSUnCorr:	157		0
      
      HEC:		4		0
      OCD:		1		0
      LCD:		0		0
      Total Cells:	3669894		430181
      Data Cells:	202241		29488
      Drop Cells:	0
      Bit Errors:	0		0
      
      ES:		870		1
      SES:		19		0
      UAS:		417		99
      AS:		162
      
      INP:		1.20		2.37
      PER:		16.20		17.81
      delay:		12.13		15.40
      OR:		28.13		33.23
      
      Bitswap:	50		4
      
      Total time = 31 min 48 sec
      SF  = 68519
      CRC = 10558
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 36
      ES  = 870
      Latest 1 day time = 31 min 48 sec
      SF  = 68519
      CRC = 10558
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 36
      ES  = 870
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 48 sec
      SF  = 6683
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 25477
      CRC = 4264
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES  = 323
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF  = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES  = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF  = 36359
      CRC = 6290
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 18
      ES  = 545
      Showtime Drop Reason:	1
      Last Retrain Reason:	1
      Just tried downloading something, and got a solid 1000+ kb/s, which i've never seen before.
      Last edited by Grade; 02-06-08 at 05:49 PM. Reason: picture

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      but the CRC errors are still very high - when in the test socket are all other sockets in the property dead (assuming you have more than one)?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Thats good, the connection is about where it should be now, you may want to look into getting an ADSL nation faceplate to replace your master, or have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum (there are a few posts in there which may help in cleaning out your wiring)

      Edit: did not even look at the errors, a little embarrased about that. still looking in the cabling and faceplate forum will give you lots of tips about your wiring
      Last edited by richone54; 02-06-08 at 05:54 PM.

    11. #10
      Grade's Avatar
      Grade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin rises... slower speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      but the CRC errors are still very high - when in the test socket are all other sockets in the property dead (assuming you have more than one)?
      There's a telewest broadband socket next to the master socket which I have no idea what it does because it was here when I moved in, then another socket which I assume is dead because nothing will work in it.

      Will these errors cause problems? So far the speed is where I want it, and the issues I had are now gone. And is it fine to keep the router in the test socket until I get it sorted out?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION