Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Seamless Rate Adaption

    This is a discussion on Seamless Rate Adaption within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there anyway to enable Seamless Rate Adaption on the new DG934 V2 router? I was using a Billion router ...

    1. #1
      ukhardy07's Avatar
      ukhardy07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Seamless Rate Adaption

      Is there anyway to enable Seamless Rate Adaption on the new DG934 V2 router? I was using a Billion router and it seemed to be working on that, but now that's refusing to work.

      It solved alot of problems with the kids on online gaming... Now that it's disconnecting they're complaining alot.

      Help anyone


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      SRA is not enabled on sky, post your router stats which may help with diagnosing the disconnections.


    4. #3
      ukhardy07's Avatar
      ukhardy07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      Ok. I have been discussing the disconnections on the DSLZONE forum. I have had it plugged into the Test socket for over a week now. Not helping much...

      The billion router which I had worked with SRA, bit confussing!

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 192:52:51

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13640 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 1 db 18 db

      And

      Connection StatusConnection Time 04:52:45
      Connecting to Server Connected
      Negotiation Success
      Authentication Success
      Getting IP Addresses 90.204.93.251
      Getting Network Mask 255.255.255.255

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      i was under the impression that SRA was implemented from the exchange side rather than the router. (i'm no expert tho)

      was you using the other router with sky ?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      it is, Sky don't have it turned on...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      old bill's Avatar
      old bill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: haverhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      Just a quick thought. Sky do not support SRA or ADSL2 (not+) yet I enabled them both using a Speedtouch 585 router and the DMT tool.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      you can enable the modes - but they won't do anything...I assume
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      GRM's Avatar
      GRM
      GRM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oadby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      After the last reboot my DG834GT v1.03.87 synced at 1760/448. 34 hours later, there is no LCP down shown in the logs, the WAN uptime is reported as 34 hours and the connection is currently 1588/448.

      Does that not suggest SRA is enabled?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      Most routers (including the Sky ones) are "multi-mode" i.e. they connect using the best ADSL mode available. The exchange equipment is much the same so if you are on ADSL2+ it actually means Sky have set no restrictions so any mode is available. In most cases, if unrestricted, this means your router will choose ADSL2+ as the best mode available. You can over-ride this but only if you've been set in the unrestricted mode. If you've been set to G.DMT for example then the exchange equipment is locked to this no matter what you do.

      AFAIK Sky's default is off for SRA at the exchange level (on though in the router) so it isn't possible to change this with the router. If it is reporting SRA then that's probably a reporting error. A handful of customers have been set up with SRA on in the past by mistake and if this were so then you'd find it on/active using the Sky router as well as any alternative router.

    11. #10
      old bill's Avatar
      old bill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: haverhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Seamless Rate Adaption

      Not sure about the SRA but when I tried switching to ADSL2 my router stats did change quite a bit. So you must be able to control these things at the exchange.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION