Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Password

    This is a discussion on Password within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If your hard drive is connected to your router by ethernet cable and you're trying to use a lap top ...

    1. #1
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Password

      If your hard drive is connected to your router by ethernet cable and you're trying to use a lap top in the same building,is the password request for activation,on the lap top,the same one that's encrypted in the Sky router.

      Cheers in advance for help with this everybody.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Password

      The password etc would normally be the one on the little card that came with the router, if you are using the Laptop wirelessly.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      StevieBoy's Avatar
      StevieBoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      211
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Password

      OK thanks Newsreader.I can't even remember a little card coming with the router tbh.I'll av a 'butchers' for it later.
      In which case I don't need to perform any routine that takes me into the netgear settings then.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Password

      The WEP password is also printed on the sticker on the underside of the router.


    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Password

      I think it is the WPA-PSK key that is on the labels, if you want to use a WEP key it has to be set manually. You have to put the WPA key into the laptops wireless security setting. It looks something like this 'IREFTXGO' all caps, no numbers. You should change the default key to one of your own, use a wired connection when you do this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Password

      ^^ Yup, youre right mate , me gettin me acronyms mixed up
      Meant the same password thats on the card is also on the bottom of the router


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION