Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Broadband activated, but cant connect.

    This is a discussion on Broadband activated, but cant connect. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please help i'm at my wits end. I signed up for Sky broadband a month ago and was told my ...

    1. #1
      thamu's Avatar
      thamu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      Please help i'm at my wits end. I signed up for Sky broadband a month ago and was told my broadband was active as of 30 April 2008. I had already recieved the router and when i connected it up, there was no connection, just the wireless and power lights turned on. I rang Sky and they said i should wait til my box was installed as the engineer would do a call back and that would activate my account.

      This was done and the engineer left rather hastily and said he did not now anything about broadband and i should just wait 4 hours. 2 days later, still no connection, tried other routers but i didnt know my ADSL login details and the settings to enter on the router. I tried my Sky Sagem router on both extensions in the apartment and even went to the extent of checking the internal socket wiring. Still no luck. My landline is working ok and technical support said they could not see any faults on the line.

      I was with BT before but fell out with them and my line was disconnected. But i re-instated the line through Madasafish who told me that the line was now fully active and had no restrictions on it as they had taken it over from BT. They pointed out that my dispute was with BT retail and not Openreach who are used by all providers to access BT's network.

      That resolved i rang Sky again and they said it might be the router because the line was not registering any faults. They are meant to send a new one out but i just wanted to find out if anyone has had the same experience and if the Sky routers are reliable.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      the routers are normally fine (but it could always be a dodgy one),

      when you try the other router does it sync with the exchange (you will not get a connection, but should still sync)

    4. #3
      thamu's Avatar
      thamu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      It just says that your ADSL link is down. Then again i tried an unlocked BT Homehub. How do i get it to sync with the exchange?

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      in truth its only what i have read on this forum about people checking there connection speed by syncing with another router (i do not have another router at home and have not been able to test)

      hopefully someone else may be able to give you more info later

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      Try your old router/modem. You can get the Login credentials here.

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      Any router should sync with the exchange as soon as you connect it, if there is an ADSL signal on the line then the ADSL/Internet light should come on. But you are not logged onto there network completely until you enter the username and password. But the light coming on at least would tell you if you have an ADSL signal.

    8. #7
      thamu's Avatar
      thamu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband activated, but cant connect.

      The problem was actually with BT and they had to reset the line or something of that nature. I'm connected now and my connection is achieving 1.7mbs on bb-base. Thanks to everyone for the help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION