Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Just joined sky speed seems capped

    This is a discussion on Just joined sky speed seems capped within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I have just had my sky broadband activated yesterday. I was previously on cable with virgin media and ...

    1. #1
      vc54321's Avatar
      vc54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sefton Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just joined sky speed seems capped

      Hi all,
      I have just had my sky broadband activated yesterday. I was previously on cable with virgin media and have now moved to sky. I signed up with the sky max package and here are some results I am getting.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0 db 6.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 13.0 db

      It seems that my connection is capped at 8mb, is this because the line has just been activated and I need to wait 10 days for them to sort this out?
      Also I tried playing counter strike on a UK server and I seem to be getting a ping of around 70 which seems quite high.

      Thanks

      Vincent


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      Nope just 3 from your activation date so you can call tomorrow about this issue.What speed were you told to expect on your line?

    4. #3
      vc54321's Avatar
      vc54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sefton Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      I wasnt really told but they said I could get about 20mb, but sky doesnt support it. Everytime I have reconnected the connection speed is always 8096. I always get the full speed when trying out a download, but to me it just seems like I have been capped

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      as suggested by Paul, you could give them a ring, but it may be less painfull to send a email from the form on the mysky page, you can them also ask for your max delays to be reduced (which will improve your ping)

      you may also want to make sure that all telephone sockets in use have a filter on

    6. #5
      vc54321's Avatar
      vc54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sefton Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      Well I just got off the phone with sky. They called me which I didnt expect and they tested my line for me I am now connected at 15323 and they also lowered the max delays down to 16 it was on 32. They said if they lowered it anymore it would become unstable. The pings have dropped by about 15 with the changes that were made. So overall am very happy with the move from cable to sky

      Thanks alot for the replies

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      good result

    8. #7
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      What has happened is the line has been capped to the max that your line can handle according to the bt system this was a precaution so that you did not have any problems and did not have to call in to get the connection working lol

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      It is typical Sky competence (or not). You have an attenuation of 10 which would support a 24 Mb connection if Sky made it available. Instead of putting you straight on to ADSL2+ as any sensible person would do, they have put you on G.DMT(8Mb max), apparently on the advice of a tester which only caters for 8Mb. Call them up and tell them that you are not happy with being denied the service you are paying for and want to be put on ADSL2+ asap. You should get the full 16Mb once they get their finger out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Just joined sky speed seems capped

      ^ it's been sorted!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION