Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Speed reduction

    This is a discussion on Speed reduction within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hiya folks. hopefully someone here will have an idea as to whats going on with my sky broadband connection because ...

    1. #1
      Blargle's Avatar
      Blargle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Putney
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed reduction

      Hiya folks. hopefully someone here will have an idea as to whats going on with my sky broadband connection because Sky just cant seem to find a solution. It's a bit of a long story this one.

      Now i signed up for the sky max package back in october, everything got transfered over from pipex without problems and everything worked perfectly, was getting just under 8Mb constantly for months. Then in late January we lost connection for a couple of days, rang up sky that said there was a fault somewhere and BT were already on it. The service came back up a few hours later but wouldn't sync higher than 4.5MB, not really a problem as its was still 3.5MB higher than our old Pipex connection and our estimated line speed was supposed to be about 5MB.

      Everything was running ok at 4.5MB upto last friday (16th May) when suddenly I started to notice massive lag spikes whilst playing World of Warcraft. Checked all the usual suspects but couldn't see anything running over my network so logged into the router to have a look. The sync had dropped to about 2700 download and 150ish upload. Gave the router several restarts but couldn't get the speed any higher. Rang sky on saturday who went through all the usual checklist that their first line tech support monkey's are given to read off (all of which I had already checked twice over including the test socket behind the faceplate of the master socket). After about half an hour they passed the fault onto BT to check the line and that we would be contacted when it was fixed. Got a voice message from BT on Sunday saying the fault had been rectified. Now the sync had dropped to 2080 and wouldn't go any higher.

      Rang Sky this morning and was passed through to their customer solutions team who were top notch, they went through everything they could their end for us and were extreamly helpful, but no matter what they tried the line wouldn't go any higher than 2080, although the upload is now 768. They even contacted BT to check it out but all BT reported was the line was only capable to 2MB and no more. Well we know for a fact that it can support more than 2MB as we were running at just under 8 for months and 4.5 for months (through the course of the phonecall found out we were capped at 4.5 all that time because of something BT did but were not told why it had been capped at 4.5).

      Rang Sky's customer services number only to be put through to the rudest most unhelpful person, she refused to listen to the problem, to look up the file on the system and refused to put me through to a supervisor. Then she hung up on me. Anyway after calling back and complaining about the previous phonecall, explaining the situation yet again to someone else and being passed along to a higher up etc, we're now at the point where nothing else can be done by Sky.

      Now after all this I was sat here thinking to myself about the phone line. We have just recently switched over from paying BT the line rental to paying Sky for the full phone package. Seems a bit of a coincidence that not long after the switch we suddenly have been capped at 2MB. Are BT being sneaky little so and so's and capping peoples lines that are not paying them for the rental?


      Any suggestions as to what I could do next to get this matter sorted would be much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      could you post your router stats from the set up you have now and also do a set from the "test" socket

      just want to see where you are at the moment and what your stats tell us

    4. #3
      Blargle's Avatar
      Blargle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Putney
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      From the normal socket

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 41.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.8 10.4
      Max(Kbps): 2304 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 2016 768

      and after ripping the faceplate off the socket again

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 14.0
      Attn(dB): 41.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.8 10.4
      Max(Kbps): 2304 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 2016 768


      almost the same.

    5. #4
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Speed reduction

      If you were capped there would of thought the Noise margin figure would be alot higher..

      Mind posting your detailed stats?

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?PATH=/b...%261+2%3E%261;

    6. #5
      Blargle's Avatar
      Blargle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Putney
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      Heres the full stats, and the speeds dropped again.

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.192.171.6 P-t-P:195.189.158.187 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:87 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:93 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:12916 (12.6 KiB) TX bytes:14855 (14.5 KiB)

      Uptime 91.29 77.14
      Wan up 59.06 48.24
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1888 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 41.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.8 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 2208 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 1888 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 60(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 60 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2622 8.6153
      L: 488 208
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 3657 3597
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 124350 30574
      RSCorr: 30749 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 276975 0
      Data Cells: 359 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 18 0
      AS: 62

      INP: 2.09 1.23
      PER: 1.97 1.88
      delay: 9.04 8.61
      OR: 28.28 29.71

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 1 min 30 sec
      SF = 3657
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 30 sec
      SF = 3657
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 30 sec
      SF = 3657
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      how strange, with your attenuation and a good line, i would have expected to see a much connection ?
      when you have the face plate off, could you check any other sockets and make sure there is still no dial tone (if correctly wired, when you take the face plate off, no other sockets should work)

      also could you just check the socket you are using with the test socket, is the first socket connected to the line where it enters the house

    8. #7
      Blargle's Avatar
      Blargle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Putney
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      Yup checked all that stuff on saturday when we phoned up sky the first time. Just had the plate off again now and yes the phones went dead. Theres only the one socket in the house with the microfilter built into the faceplate. From the broadband socket (oddly an RJ45 socket) theres a 5 metre-ish extension running into the bedrom (the sockets an RJ11 on that end) where the router is. Already elimated the extension as i took the router into the living room where the master socket is and plugged it directly into the test socket (using a microfilter of course).

      As far as i can tell theres nothing wrong at all with my my setup here as I have tested every peice of equipment and even tried some of my spares just to be sure. Sky even got me to plug in a spare Belkin router i have knocking about the place to see what speeds that would sync at, same as the Netgear one. I cant understand why BT now say all i can get is 2Mb when I've been getting 8 before and even there website says i should be getting at least 5.

    9. #8
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Speed reduction

      Sky even got me to plug in a spare Belkin router i have knocking about the place to see what speeds that would sync at, same as the Netgear one. I cant understand why BT now say all i can get is 2Mb when I've been getting 8 before and even there website says i should be getting at least 5.
      Did they give your ADSL credentials?

    10. #9
      Blargle's Avatar
      Blargle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Putney
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      Nope, I said about not having the username and password and was told that all they wanted to do was check the sync, the username and password wouldn't be needed. Shame really because I wanted to use my belkin router without sky being able to stop me. I'm not a big fan of that netgear router as its froze up on me a few times. I know a few people think belkins are equally crap but I've not had any issues with mine at all.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed reduction

      Did they give your ADSL credentials?
      You don't need these to sync with the exchange, only to connect to Sky.

      It appears the OP is in a bit of a corner. It is fairly obvious that BT, in 'fixing' the line have done something to it to make it worse. I think the only thing he/she can do, is complain to Sky that since moving the line rental to them the ADSL connection has suffered badly and it is just not acceptable. As Sky must be paying BT millions a year, surely they must have some clout to get something done.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION