Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Help - frequently losing connection

    This is a discussion on Help - frequently losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I can't use that link! When I click that link a dialog box asks for username/password, after that I'm getting ...

    1. #11
      movilogo's Avatar
      movilogo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      I can't use that link! When I click that link a dialog box asks for username/password, after that I'm getting a 404 error page.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      movilogo's Avatar
      movilogo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Also, if it helps, sometimes I'm getting a Windows status bar message with an exclamation mark icon that an IP address can't be assigned [network has limited connectivity].

      Is there a non 0844/0870 number for Sky technical support?

    4. #13
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Manually assign an ip address to the network card. Then

    5. #14
      movilogo's Avatar
      movilogo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      and how do I do that?

    6. #15
      twocrazymonkies's Avatar
      twocrazymonkies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whiteabbey
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Ok, here goes nothing...

      Firstly, please trust us when we say not to use any extension cables... in this case I don't think it's justified to say the tech support are useless, they may be reading from a script, but the script is designed for your problem!

      If it's saying Limited or no connectivity then do this:

      XP:

      Start>Control Panel>Network Connections>Right click Local Area Connection>Properties>Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)>Properties>

      Vista:

      Start>Control Panel>Network and Internet>Network and Sharing Centre>Manage Network Connections (on the left)>Right click Local Are Connection>Select Internet Protocol V.4>Click properties>

      Select "Use the following IP addresses":

      IP address: 192.168.0.99 (Or anything that isn't 1 and is less than 255)
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1

      "Use the following DNS server addresses":

      Preferred DNS server address: 192.168.0.1
      Alternate DNS server address: Blank

      Click Ok then close any other windows.

      That should rule out any disconnection problems on the LAN side of things, if the whole connection cuts out take a look at the internet light on the router - if it's off then plug into the test socket (without any extension cable) by unscrewing the faceplate of your BT master socket (with the horizontal line) and keep it there for 24 hours, if the connection still drops out then you'll know there's something going wrong on the Sky side of things - if this happens just give Sky a call while plugged into the test socket and when they ask you to change microfilters just say you've done that before the call (make sure that you have though). You'll end up through to CST who will be able to sort out the problem if it's a Sky problem. Hope that helps.
      "Is your router definately plugged into the master telephone socket, sir?"
      "YES! SO WHY CAN'T I DO MY WIRELESS?"
      "How far away from the router are you?"
      "I'M IN SPAIN"
      True story.

    7. #16
      twocrazymonkies's Avatar
      twocrazymonkies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whiteabbey
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      And if it's a phase 2 netgear they'll configure the Upstream to 416kbps instead of 384kbps... I just had a look at the stats and I'm surprised nobody picked up on that one!

      (Now I see it's V1 Netgear... anyone know if the firmware would generate the same problem with the 384kbps upstream configuration?)
      Last edited by twocrazymonkies; 19-05-08 at 01:18 PM. Reason: New information.
      "Is your router definately plugged into the master telephone socket, sir?"
      "YES! SO WHY CAN'T I DO MY WIRELESS?"
      "How far away from the router are you?"
      "I'M IN SPAIN"
      True story.

    8. #17
      movilogo's Avatar
      movilogo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      My Sky modem/router is not Netgear one, it's Sagem.

    9. #18
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Might want to change the router in your profile then

    10. #19
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Quote Originally Posted by twocrazymonkies View Post
      And if it's a phase 2 netgear they'll configure the Upstream to 416kbps instead of 384kbps... I just had a look at the stats and I'm surprised nobody picked up on that one!

      (Now I see it's V1 Netgear... anyone know if the firmware would generate the same problem with the 384kbps upstream configuration?)
      They set it to 416 becuase there is an issue if it is set to 384 as it sometime syncs at 256 and the connection just does not work.

      So it's nothing really new from skys end

    11. #20
      bigmike20vt's Avatar
      bigmike20vt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01440
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk Fibre
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help - frequently losing connection

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      They set it to 416 becuase there is an issue if it is set to 384 as it sometime syncs at 256 and the connection just does not work.

      So it's nothing really new from skys end
      i too am having issues..... will post my line stats when i get home but its driving me mad. <posting on here as seemed silly to make a new thread>

      surfing is ok, as when my connection goes down, i get page not found for 30 seconds then my router repicks up the connection and carries on, however have just started xbox live gaming and its a bloody nightmare disconnecting from games on xbox live

      i have gone from my (flashed) sky netgear router to my old D-link router and has improved things some what, have tried wired conenction as well as wireless, am in what looks to be the main BT socket HOWEVER there is no master socket so cant try that <does that mean my phone wiring is vv old?>

      BT are totally not interested as my BB isnt with them, have mailed sky waiting for advice, but in the mean time any thoughts are appreciated.

      I had no issues with pipex 8mb broadband, however my sky max is so much quicker. does this mean they will simply cap my line? or are sky likely to get onto BT to come and check my external phone line?

      thansk for rreading
      Fiat Coupe. Gone but not forgotten

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION