Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

    This is a discussion on New user of Sky User, but not to broadband... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, After 12months of terrible broadband speeds, I've finally taken it upon myself to sort it out. When I ...

    1. #1
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      Hi all,

      After 12months of terrible broadband speeds, I've finally taken it upon myself to sort it out. When I signed up to sky they said my line was running 20Mb and its a new flat close to the exchange. So I went with Max package (sales talked me into it or what?).

      Anyway, I checked my speed last night and it said 0.5Mb download? I've also been having major connection problems, of which I followed info on this site (v useful) about turning uPNP off and changing the channel its broadcasting from. I am not totally tech minded, but understand some things. I was just wondering if there was any more info anyone can provide on how to improve my download speeds since they are terribly slow.

      I have just read about the filters being in all sockets etc. Now I have to admit I haven't tried this as yet, would this cause such a problem with downloads? Im at work now so havent been able to try this.

      Any help would be wonderful.

      Thanks a lot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      Seeing other threads I guess it would help if I posted my router stats? I shall do this tonight. But I can remember seeing download stream or whatever its calld and it was at about 300kb or something, a lot less than others ive seen in here (1000...3000kb +)!?

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      If you can, when you post your stats can you do a set from the test socket at the master as well.

    5. #4
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      Sure will do, thanks a lot. Although it was plugged into the master socket and thats where I was getting major disconnections. But now its in the bedroom and disconnections have got better, although I have changed the channel and uPNP since moving it.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      couldn't be 20Mbps seeing as the top product from Sky is 16Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      I think you misread what I put, I said when I called Sky for a package, they said my line was running at 20Mb this is what showed on their tests of the line. The package I took was Max and indeed as you pointed out is Max 16Mb...

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      post stats then and we can take a look...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      Ok here goes, some stats....so whats wrong?? haha. Note I have 3 sockets, only one filter, but seeing as though the main tester socket is the same as the others, doesn't suggest interference...right?

      As current, not main socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 203 kbps 671 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 db 33.9 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 9.5 db

      Same when I had nothing plugged into Main Socket


      Main socket, nothing else plugged in

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4947 kbps 646 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 db 33.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      Another Main Socket what I found...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4962 kbps 682 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 db 33.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      Test Socket

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4958 kbps 718 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 db 33.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.5 db





    10. #9
      Double B's Avatar
      Double B is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01438
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      From this does it appear as though my line has been capped, since it was said to be running faster than this, or is this the norm for these stats?

      Thanks for your help

    11. #10
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New user of Sky User, but not to broadband...

      you do need filters on all items connected to any telephone socket in your flat, as you can see by your first set of stats the conection speed is pants.
      the last 2 sets of stats are about right for your line

      your attenuation suggests your line runs between about 3-4 km from your house to the exchange (see 3rd link in my sig for a better explanation)

      If you are on the max package but do not need the unlimited downloads or higher up loads (768 on max only 416 approx on mid) then i would suggest saving a fiver a month and downgrading
      Last edited by richone54; 14-05-08 at 11:36 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION