Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Help on Error Message

    This is a discussion on Help on Error Message within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am sorry if this is nothing to do with Sky, it is in fact BT Broadband, I have just ...

    1. #1
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Help on Error Message

      I am sorry if this is nothing to do with Sky, it is in fact BT Broadband, I have just spent over an hour and a half trying without success to configure a friends computer for BT Broadband, the Router BT have sent is sort of guesstimate 'BT Voyager Router 220/230"?, when trying to connect it will not, upon running the BT Healthcheck check connection, the following message appears " Unable to, correct Default Gateway, unable to correct the configuration of your computer" have check all connections, reset the router a number of times, re-configured the Ethernet Card, I have three green lights on the Router, Power, DSL, and Ethernet, all steady green....the Router is connected to an extension socket, any help anyone please, aplogies for posting this in a Sky Site, but wasn't sure who else may be able to help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      How have you got the tcp propties set as is it set to get adresses automatic or have you keyed in a default gateway addy and ip addy

    4. #3
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      I am not sure but I left it automatic, I most certainly keyed nothing in, thanks for the help

    5. #4
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      so can you connect to the router through web browser normaly 192.168.0.1

      sorry could you do a ipconfig /all in a cmd and post result
      Last edited by nifts; 20-09-06 at 09:48 PM.

    6. #5
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      No can't make a connection, at all, sorry if I sound a bit vague, but this is the first Broadband connection I have attempted, hope things go better when I get the word....

    7. #6
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      open up a command prompt by typing cmd in the run command and then type ipconfig /all post what u see

    8. #7
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Sorry Nifts, but I am not at my friends PC at the moment....suspect from your reply I need to be

    9. #8
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yeh that would help lol

    10. #9
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Perhaps you could tell me what the error message means, it is absolutely meaningless to me....but not to old to learn....

    11. #10
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      basicly it cannot get a correct default gateway addy (you doorway to the internet or any other disimular network ) because a wan is different then a lan you need some way to talk to each other a translater if you like and that is what a gateway does , now in home network your default gate way is your router and needs to be on the same network as your pc it seems to me that your cpu cannot talk to the internet because it cannot find the default gateway. i am stumped as to why it is not recieving it from the router as they are normaly DHCP server too. that might not in which case you will have to key in TCP setting manual ie ip addy subnet and default gateway and DNS

      If you can get the correct router name i could look for you see how they are set up

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION