Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 42

    Constant DC's after every hour or so

    This is a discussion on Constant DC's after every hour or so within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Master socket did the trick, been up for more than 219hrs and no DC's again thanks for all the help....

    1. #21
      Deebott's Avatar
      Deebott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Master socket did the trick, been up for more than 219hrs and no DC's again thanks for all the help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Alaron251's Avatar
      Alaron251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Is there a special area I can post my staticstical stuff so someone can tell me what is wrong with mine?

      There are alot of problems, but I think it could be one common cause for it all. And I'm not very smart with all this Jargon that everyone uses, I can barely fathom Line Attenuation

    4. #23
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      You can post your line stats here. Could you also give some details as to how you are connected (to the master socket or extension. wired or wireless) If you could post a set of stats from the Test socket (if you have one, it's in the master telephone socket) that would help a lot

    5. #24
      Alaron251's Avatar
      Alaron251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      If you mean by how i'm wired. I have a filter or two heading up to the socket on the wall, I assume that's extension.

      Here are the stats from that Mels notes thingymajig. If that's what you wanted, I'm not very smart when it comes to this kinda stuff (probably why my internet speeds are pretty abysmal).If that's not what you wanted, can you tell me how I can acquire what you need?



      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.202.170.142 P-t-P:195.189.159.163 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:118990 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:93078 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:145505542 (138.7 MiB) TX bytes:15068876 (14.3 MiB)

      Uptime 4826.67 4692.83
      Wan up 406.34 376.27
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 130 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3062 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 9.5
      Attn(dB): 54.0 37.4
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.1
      Max(Kbps): 4216 196
      Rate (Kbps): 3062 130
      G.dmt framing
      K: 96(0) 5
      R: 14 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 95 4
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 1.9855 15.6734
      L: 830 49
      D: 16 2
      Counters
      SF: 281765 252500
      SFErr: 65713 1
      RS: 9157370 1158975
      RSCorr: 3646690 0
      RSUnCorr: 299116 0

      HEC: 48036 0
      OCD: 3 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 32679333 1400458
      Data Cells: 3467019 407530
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4373 1
      SES: 583 0
      UAS: 141 0
      AS: 4546

      INP: 1.07 2.61
      PER: 16.13 18.12
      delay: 7.94 7.83
      OR: 32.23 32.66

      Bitswap: 32 11

      Total time = 1 hours 20 min 26 sec
      SF = 286719
      CRC = 65713
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 72
      ES = 4373
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 20 min 26 sec
      SF = 286719
      CRC = 65713
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 72
      ES = 4373
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 26 sec
      SF = 20269
      CRC = 4982
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 318
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55768
      CRC = 13546
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 864
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55769
      CRC = 13227
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 866
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55831
      CRC = 13184
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 869
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55769
      CRC = 12714
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 870
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1

    6. #25
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      have a look at the first link in my sig and do a set of stats from the test socket, judging by your stats i would think your extention is giving you a problem
      Last edited by richone54; 09-06-08 at 04:43 PM. Reason: spelling

    7. #26
      Alaron251's Avatar
      Alaron251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Will do, I already looked at that page, and was thinking of doing it. 'brb'

    8. #27
      Alaron251's Avatar
      Alaron251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      You mean like this? I have done how that thread says. I hope this helps -

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.202.170.57 P-t-P:195.189.159.163 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:1670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:1154 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:1278254 (1.2 MiB) TX bytes:283102 (276.4 KiB)

      Uptime 1040.80 1003.02
      Wan up 836.76 804.38
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 486 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4344 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 10.5
      Attn(dB): 54.0 36.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.8 12.6
      Max(Kbps): 5244 584
      Rate (Kbps): 4344 486
      G.dmt framing
      K: 134(0) 16
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 66
      B: 133 15
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.9795 7.8904
      L: 1176 146
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 15637 14770
      SFErr: 30 1
      RS: 1032050 127059
      RSCorr: 1028 0
      RSUnCorr: 779 0

      HEC: 30 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2587185 287354
      Data Cells: 27960 7411
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 558 1
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 96 37
      AS: 253

      INP: 1.08 1.75
      PER: 16.16 17.75
      delay: 7.83 7.89
      OR: 32.66 32.44

      Bitswap: 57 4

      Total time = 17 min 20 sec
      SF = 54859
      CRC = 4963
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 45
      ES = 558
      Latest 1 day time = 17 min 20 sec
      SF = 54859
      CRC = 4963
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 45
      ES = 558
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 20 sec
      SF = 8750
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 46109
      CRC = 4957
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 45
      ES = 554
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1

    9. #28
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      just to check, these stats are from the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket ? while you have it in there, could you check and make sure none of your other sockets still work (while using test socket, no other socket should work, unless there is a bit of dodgy wiring going on)

    10. #29
      Alaron251's Avatar
      Alaron251 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      This may sound weird but, I have one downstairs with sky TV and the phone plugged into (the old one looks different to the new one), and there is one upstairs which is the newer socket,my internet was orignally in the older downstairs one, so I put it up stairs and there are no other things plugged into the one upstairs., do I have to unplug the downstairs ones too? Does that make sense?

    11. #30
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      if you have 2 sockets in the house that both have the test socket behind the faceplate, then i would think you have some dodgy wiring.
      when you take the front off, this act alone should disconect any normal extentions

      what you could do is follow the line in from where it enters your house and the first socket you come to should be the master

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION