Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42

    Constant DC's after every hour or so

    This is a discussion on Constant DC's after every hour or so within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ^no but your CRC errors are quite high. You haven't got any other electrical items nearby have you?...

    1. #11
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      ^no but your CRC errors are quite high. You haven't got any other electrical items nearby have you?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Your error rate has reduced considerably, from one and a half % to 0.3%. From what I gather the router should be able to handle this rate without too much trouble. I did expect your Noise Margin to rise but this could be down to the time when the stats were taken.
      What this and your errors indicate is that there are problems on your line, which are causing interference. Unless there is something obviously wrong close to your property, like the phone line going through tree branches or noticeable damage to the cable, there is not a lot you can do.
      You could try phoning BT and complaining of occasional noises on your line and ask them to check it. Unfortunately they are only contractually liable for supplying a voice line, you can't ask them to improve the line due to broadband faults, this must be done by Sky. Sky are always reluctant to do it, but you could ask them to request BT to do a health check on the line. To be honest, they are more likely to send you a new router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Agree with everything so far. Just to back track a bit, do you have a NTE-5 master (the one with the removeable faceplate)? If you do, when you connect to the test socket, make sure that all the other sockets are dead (no dial tone)

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      I missed the part where you said you were in the Master socket. As Brian says, it must be the Test socket to get a true result. That could account for the errors and NM. Plugging into the Master still leaves your internal wiring in the equation. If you do not have an NTE-5, all you can do is unplug everything you have plugged into the extensions, unless you are brave enough to disconnect the extensions from the Master socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Deebott's Avatar
      Deebott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      So sorry for the lack of response, i thought the topic died and i just noticed that it went onto a second page. Latley everything has been alot more stable since I unplugged my router from the socket it was in to perform this test and then place it bak into the extension in my room (best uptime 27hrs with no LCP drop outs) .I had an ex BT engineer come out and take a look and he said the wiring to my house and the wiring used is probley the best you can get.In saying that tho i will do the test socket test as soon as i can.To answer Brian's question I do have a NTE-5 master socket, however how would i make sure all other sockets are dead? To answer Mondy's question I do have other items near i am afraid. I heard about how things like TV'S,SKY,PC'S etc can affect the router but the cabling is very short and cant really move it very far at all.
      Last edited by Deebott; 28-05-08 at 08:53 AM.

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Morning.
      To check that all extensions have no dial tone when the test socket of the NTE-5 master is exposed, just plug a phone into them, you should hear nothing. With the test socket exposed, only the test socket should have a dial tone.

    8. #17
      Deebott's Avatar
      Deebott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Righto, I'll get the test socket test done 2day. Also I thought i would mention that last night in the extension socket i had a noise margin of 26db which i think is good
      Last edited by Deebott; 28-05-08 at 08:46 AM.

    9. #18
      Deebott's Avatar
      Deebott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      stats from test socket
      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.193.35.34 P-t-P:82.108.10.79 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:6128 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:5619 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:4984012 (4.7 MiB) TX bytes:920952 (899.3 KiB)

      Uptime 18710.53 18672.49
      Wan up 92.33 80.83
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8000 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.0 13.0
      Attn(dB): 31.0 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 9696 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8000 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 251(0) 14
      R: 4 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 251 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 4 16
      S: 1.0158 17.0666
      L: 2016 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1098873 1098821
      SFErr: 38 3
      RS: 74723430 4669989
      RSCorr: 2714 52
      RSUnCorr: 121 0

      HEC: 25 1
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 352469530 0
      Data Cells: 108656 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 14 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      AS: 18681

      INP: 0.50 4.26
      PER: 1.77 1.86
      delay: 16.25 34.13
      OR: 31.50 30.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 5 hours 11 min 49 sec
      SF = 1098873
      CRC = 38
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 11 min 49 sec
      SF = 1098873
      CRC = 38
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 49 sec
      SF = 41713
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      Very good! You are not going to get better than that on G.DMT. If you can fit an ADSLNation faceplate and plug the router directly into it, you could ask Sky to move you to ADSL2+, which should see your speed rise above 14Mbps. Ofcourse, there is nothing to stop you continuing to use the Test socket, but that may not be convenient.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Deebott's Avatar
      Deebott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Huddersfield
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Constant DC's after every hour or so

      This afternoon i just had master socket relocated to my room and all is good so far. Yes If everything still goes well i will ask sky to uncap my speed so i can hit 16mb again,which i did do when i 1st got connected for at least 1 month. Anyway thankyou all for your help and tips
      Last edited by Deebott; 28-05-08 at 07:03 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION