Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 40

    Losing connection

    This is a discussion on Losing connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You seem to have a good sync with a good noise margin, it does not look like the kind of ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      You seem to have a good sync with a good noise margin, it does not look like the kind of connection that would drop. Try opening the Statistics window of the router and keep it in the corner of your screen. Watch to see if your noise margin drops suddenly. It is possible work is going on on your line/exchange, which is causing a noise spike, causing your connection to drop. If so, it will be a temporary inconvenience.

      It may of course be the router which is beginning to show it's age. I take it you have it stood up on it's legs and not lying flat?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      Legs?

      Just rang up and got a new router on the way out to try and eliminate that. If it still happens we are going to look at the line.

    4. #13
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      Sky have just rang me back and stating that my router is not being recognized on the network. My router has a unknown mac address and this may be the problem to.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      After 2 years it is suddenly not being recognized

      Is it possible the upgrade has corrupted it in some way?

      The 'legs' are the little plastic clips which allow you to stand the router up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      According to Sky the router has never been recognized. From the start

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      That is even more unbelievable, if that were the case you would not even been able to connect. I think they are making it up as they go along. According to other threads you should just have to give them the MAC address and they can enter it in the system manually.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      Well hopefully the new router will fix this

    9. #18
      Mark's Avatar
      Mark is offline Skyuser IRC Admin
      Exchange: Northern
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      Well got new router. Its the black one. See how this goes

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 762 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17 db 3.5 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 18 db

      Line atten has gone from 17.5db to 17db aswell

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      Practically no difference in your stats, time will tell if it has cured your problem. Different routers measure the attenuation differently, a few dbs between different routers makes is quite normal.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing connection

      I am also getting this same problem since firmware change - I have just had to power-down/up the router, (white v1 stood upright), again for the second time in 12 hrs. I have to switch-off the power as I can't even log-in to the router via web interface. I have had loads of instances of lost connection since 'upgrade'.

      I have kept a record of my Sky BB connection since I joined in October 2006 and have never had any problems until this firmware change. As well as the above my download speed has decreased a little and is now more erratic and my u/l speed has decreased. See my Sky Broadband connection

      O2 is looking tempting!

      john
      John in High Wycombe

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION