Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Router Password?

    This is a discussion on Router Password? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please can someone help me, I'm going mad trying to sort this one out. We've had Sky broadband now for ...

    1. #1
      shortie28's Avatar
      shortie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02476
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Router Password?

      Please can someone help me, I'm going mad trying to sort this one out.

      We've had Sky broadband now for just over a week. We've connected to the internet with no problem but every so often (intermittently), when we try to browse, we get a window pop up with this message:"The server Google at DSL Router requires a username and password" and then we cannot get any further. What on earth is this? We haven't been given a password or user name. It also gives a warning that any passwords sent will not be secure so I don't want to enter our WEP key.

      When we try to get into the router's set up page we also get the message "The server 192.168.0.1 at DSL Router requires a username and password" and then I get a black screen with error 401. This happens every time I try.

      We are using a Sagem router on the Maximum connection and have Windows XP.

      I've spent a fortune over the past week or so hanging on to speak to the technical dept at Sky (for another completely different Sky problem), I fight shy of phoning again if I can get help here.

      Many thanks for your help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Password?

      Username: admin
      Password: sky

      The problem you describe sounds like a DNS issue. I will get you a link.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Password?

      Pages need refreshing alot.

      Have a read of that thread.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Password?

      It could be the bug in the router which continually wants a user/password. There is another thread running with the same sort of problem.

      The advice seems to be try resetting the router by pushing a biro into the little hole at the back and hold it there for 10 seconds or until the tick blinks.

      If that does not work, phone Sky, put up with the pain, report what is happening and they may send you a replacement router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION