Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    OpenDNS with Sky Router

    This is a discussion on OpenDNS with Sky Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This little how-to gives you information on how to use OpenDNS with your sky router without re flashing it. Technician ...

    1. #1
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OpenDNS with Sky Router

      This little how-to gives you information on how to use OpenDNS with your sky router without re flashing it.

      Technician Spot


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      I think you may find that the new firmware does not allow access to this part of the settings.

      James' Custom Firmware gives you access to this and a few other settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Stroke's Avatar
      Stroke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      Removed as double posted

    6. #5
      Stroke's Avatar
      Stroke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      Hi Guys.
      My first post.
      Sky updated my firmware 28/03/12 from V1.03.87 to V1.04.13. Now I can't remember how to configure router as I had it with V1.03.87. OpenDNS worked fine before the update. Does anyone know what I need to add to netgear.cfg. to get Open DNS working fully. Blogspot link above does not work

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: OpenDNS with Sky Router

      I don't think the .CFG from the newer firmware shows the DNS servers. You will have to Telnet into the router and apply the following commands-
      Telnet to the router by doing Start->Run then typing telnet 192.168.0.1
      Type the following commands:
      nvram set wan_dns1=208.67.222.222
      nvram set wan_dns2=208.67.220.220
      nvram set wan_fix_dns=1
      Reboot the router

      I am not sure if the new firmware will allow telneting

      The alternate is to try installing James' firmware, but I am not sure if this will work with the new firmware. It may need an update from James
      Community Updates for the DG834GT

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION