Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    SkyBB Mid Question

    This is a discussion on SkyBB Mid Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have your stats improved since the rewiring?...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question

      Have your stats improved since the rewiring?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Insectwarfare's Avatar
      Insectwarfare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      South East
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question

      Nope. not a single bit. I'm pretty much convinced i've been capped.

      I got through to tier 1 only last night around 11pm, CST was too busy to take my call.

      But the lady told me there seems to be something wrong at the exchange according to the notes on her screen.

      They can't do tone tests on my line, and according to their info i don't even seem to be connected at the exchange either... yet i'm online, phone works fine.

      When i opened the box, the blue/white band wire and white/blue band wire were both connected directly to points A and B on the image i linked. i re-wired it as per the image and other info i researched online, but the junction box has seen better days, so i'm going to replace this also at some point in the next few days.

      I know this is all against BT's regulations, but my dad isn't bothered and the state the wiring was in it was in need of re-positioning and tidying up.

      He pointed out that i am obsessed with it at the moment too haha which i am, it's bugging me to death!

      Gonna try CST tonight, and see if anything has happened, changed, improved and why they can't seem to do tests at all.

    4. #13
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question

      If you can phone them usually around 9AM - 1PM you usually get put though instantly.

    5. #14
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question

      Looking at what they have said to you on the various times you have called them and emailed them, it seems to ring a bell. They pretty much gave me exactly the same script when I had max delays reduced. Basically my line does not cope to well with low interleaving levels. When they reduced the interleaving depth they capped the speed to 998kbps, lost 1800kbkps. They also said to me that I was not connected to the internet, but did a test which said the router was there. After a few weeks they removed the cap totally. It took several calls to get the cap increased from 998kbps to 2048kbps to 2400kbps back down to 1024kbps before finally getting the cap set to 8128kbps. So I would say it is capped and you are going to have to keep on trying. Leave you wiring alone and tell them that before they messed with your line your were getting 4mbps or something, or say last week you were. They have no records of your sync speed. That is the only way they would remove the limit.
      Check what speed you should get:
      Samknows Broadband - Availability checker

      If it turns out that you are quite close to the exchange and you should get a better speed then it may be your router. In one case that I know, the version 1 of the sky router would only sync at a Max of 2000kbps. Sky tests would say a Max of 17mbps on the LLU equipment. They in the end send out a new router which doubled the speed to 4-5mbps. He should have got 8mbps but still a good improvement.

      So I would say your line is capped, but there may well be a very good reason for why the cap is there, so ask the guy on the phone to justify why they have put the limit on in the first place.

    6. #15
      Insectwarfare's Avatar
      Insectwarfare is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      South East
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question



      Connection Speed 3520 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 13.0 db


      Well, i obviously got lucky tonight getting through to a gamer who works in the CST department.

      He basically told me he'd tweak the line how he'd set it up as a gamer himself, as you can see from my results, the ping is nice and low, the downstream he capped at 3.5 meg, and the upstream is much better.

      He did actually tell me that i could get a lot more than 3.5 meg, not an exact figure, but said the cap would keep my line stable, with a better down and upstream with a ping low enough to host and play games with minimal problems. I'll keep an eye on the stats. Hopefully my thread will help some people, but i'd definately agree good wiring can make a difference.

      Thanks to Sky User!

      IW

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: SkyBB Mid Question

      with an SNR of that you won't get a lot more tbh...still, glad you're sorted...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION