Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New to Sky ps check my stats!

    This is a discussion on New to Sky ps check my stats! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i am on the connect package as my exchange (200 MTRS AWAY) does not have capabilities to hold Max. ...

    1. #1
      boysiebarclay's Avatar
      boysiebarclay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 300 metres from echange
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky ps check my stats!

      Hi i am on the connect package as my exchange (200 MTRS AWAY) does not have capabilities to hold Max. Straight away its a lot faster than Aol plat but can you ps check my stats below and see if i can improve on anything. My noise levels look good but concerned about the attenuation, should i be? Also does anyone here know when my exchange will be ADSL2 enabled as this is ridiculously high price to pay compared to the Max prices Thanks

      System Up Time: 0:40:54
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 937 1192 0 0 0 0:05:21
      LAN 11422 9077 0 0 0 0:40:54
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:40:32
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6976 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 13.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.2 db 24.0 db

      Last edited by boysiebarclay; 25-04-08 at 07:25 PM. Reason: stats edit


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      boysiebarclay's Avatar
      boysiebarclay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 300 metres from echange
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky ps check my stats!


    4. #3
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: New to Sky ps check my stats!

      Hi there is a 10 day training period on the connect package in which your line will negoitate the best speed possible. As you are package is obviously costing 17 im afraid that it could be a while until sky install their own equipment into the exchange. Furthermore your noise margin is high. You may want to check out our cabling and faceplate tutorials to reduce any noise on your line. If you can you should take a speed check connected to the test socket behind the master socket?

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket

    5. #4
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky ps check my stats!

      Thanks PP. I did this thread for my stepfather, will do tests next time i'm there! What sort of noise ratio should i be looking to achieve? I just had sky reduce my max delays (gaming) which have worked brilliantly. My ratios have changed from:
      Before adjustments= Connection Speed 12551 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 12 db

      After=Connection Speed 11890 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 7 db

      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky ps check my stats!

      @boysiebarclay

      Your noise margin is excellent and given your attenuation it should remain so. As has been said, there is a 10 day period on Connect during which your line will train to the best stable speed it can support. During this time you should re-boot your router every night, preferably by switching the power off for a minute then back on again to ensure that it is re-syncing with the exchange. You will find that your speed will change until it reaches it's stable maximum. I would be surprised if you do not achieve the maximum available on your package, ie, 8mbps, with a correspondingly high download speed.

      BTW - there is no need to post in bold, unless you want to specially emphasize a point.

      @wannabegeek

      Your connection looks fine, it is normal to loose a bit of sync with reduced delays, but in your case it could be down to the changing noise margin. This is fine and with the new FW it is a reasonable margin.
      Last edited by Isitme; 26-04-08 at 12:51 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      wannabgeek's Avatar
      wannabgeek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton-on-sea
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      essex
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky ps check my stats!

      Thanks for the quick reply isitme. Thing is i am still getting kicked/dissconnected whilst playing cod4 online, dont understand. Cheers

      Ps: Bold issue noted
      Last edited by wannabgeek; 27-04-08 at 04:58 PM.
      1.16 direct from Clacton-on-sea,s Holland Rd Exchange
      [1.61 Road]

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION