Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

    This is a discussion on help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; we have netgear dg834gt router and are on the sky max package - ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e , DownStream Connection ...

    1. #1
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      we have netgear dg834gt router and are on the sky max package - ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e , DownStream Connection Speed 9214 kbps , UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps , Line Attenuation 34.0 db , Noise Margin 7.1db , we recently upgraded to the sky max package because our internet was running so slow and we are still only getting the above - i have spent hours on the phone with sky doing all the usual tests and for them to tell me everythings fine - we upgraded the bb and had 11599 kbps then dropped to 7 after taking the double adapter out of the phone socket (which sky put there as we have sky tv aswell) we have increased to 9214kbps, one pc and xbox live account which we use in the evenings when the kids are in bed obviously this is the heaviest traffic time we know but we keep getting thrown off line last night we couldnt sign in for over an hour, please could someone help us with maybe changing settings or something like a static route ive heard this can solve the problem as sky have been useless at offering help - this is our first post and am pretty new to this so i dont know if i have posted this in the right place, thankyou guys any help is extremely appreciated.

      vicky


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      Sounds like your line connections are wrong for starters, obviously the Sky tv person got there before you received your router and you failed to read the instructions that came with the router that state very clearly that the adsl filter supplied with the router must be the first thing on your telephone socket. Having the TV adaptor in the socket was causing you problems, it may be that you were capped due to instability while it was on there.
      Can you tell us how many telephone sockets there are in your house, what is connected, are there any extensions and how are you connecting the router to the xbox?
      Also you may need to post your rotuer stats so that someone can tell you if your speed is about as good as it gets or if there is something wrong.

    4. #3
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      hi there sky installed the tv and router at the same time all we had to do was run the software from the disc, the adsl is in first with the telephone and router plugged into it, we cannot plug the sky tv in now at all because if we do it will affect the phone line so at the moment that is all that is plugged in to the socket, there are no extensions and the xbox is connected to the router with a ethernet wire,

      router stats same as before
      DownStream Connection Speed 9214 kbps , UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps , Line Attenuation 34.0 db , Noise Margin 7.1db ,

      we are on the max package one minute sky says our line can handle only 6 and then we are running at 11599 so i dont know whats going on here at all, it sounds like from what your saying that it hasnt been installed properly, thanks for your help.

      also the technician who installed this said to never remove the sky tv box from the double adapter as it had to have a constant connection, now the sky box has no connection at all as we cant plug it in, only one phone socket in the house which is the master we are using.
      Last edited by vickyrees; 25-04-08 at 09:14 PM.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      plug the filter in first, then the sky box adapter into the phone side and the router into the router side, the phone will plug into the sky box adapter

      could you post your router stats, need to see your attenuation before i could comment on your speed

    6. #5
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9214 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 20.1 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 16.0 db

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      are they from the "test" socket behind the face plate ?

    8. #7
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      we spent hours on the phone with sky night before last when we run the test from the test socket - the router stats were exactly the same except the noise margin was 7.1 but that was at 9pm - but the stats were exactly the same at the test socket and faceplate.

    9. #8
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      any more info would be great please guys

    10. #9
      petebelfast's Avatar
      petebelfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIGGY
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      I would check what line code you're on. It looks like g.dmt but you should be able to get a higher connection again if it is changed to ADSL2+. It does say in the router which code you are on. Howver with the attenuation sitting as high as it is it may cause an intermittent connection

    11. #10
      vickyrees's Avatar
      vickyrees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      swansea, wales, u.k.
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help please with xbox live and router pulling my hair out!

      ok will check, also i have tried the above with plugin the filter in first, then the sky box adapter into the phone side and the router into the router side, the phone will plug into the sky box adapter and it cuts out connection to xbox live so no go - we can only use xbox live with the sky tv box adapter not plugged in????

      how do i check which line code we are on?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION