Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router Trouble

    This is a discussion on Router Trouble within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there I'm not getting a modem connection light on my sky router. I've tried connecting with a wireless dongle ...

    1. #1
      omghelp's Avatar
      omghelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028 28
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Trouble

      Hi there

      I'm not getting a modem connection light on my sky router. I've tried connecting with a wireless dongle and also bought a 35 broadband cable as advised by PC World. Neither of them change the fact that I've no Modem light. My signal strength is excellent.

      Please help before I tear every last hair out of my head.

      Thanks so much.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Trouble

      Quote Originally Posted by omghelp View Post
      also bought a 35 broadband cable as advised by PC World.
      35! I wonder why they recommended that?

      OK - let's start from scratch as it's not clear from your post exactly what the problem is.

      • When you say you have "no modem light", what light are you referring to? On the router? Which light?
      • Log into your router and click "connection status". What is showing?
      • Go into your PC network settings. Has the PC been given an IP address? What is it?
      • How is your router connected to the phone socket? With an extension? Is there a filter connected?
      • How long have you been a Sky customer? Has the connection ever worked?


      Lots of questions I know but your answers should show where the problem lies.

    4. #3
      omghelp's Avatar
      omghelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028 28
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Trouble

      Hi,

      It's the light on the router beside the wireless connection light and the connection status was showing connected last night. I did have an IP address too, but I'm in work at the minute so can't check what it is.

      My router is connected to the telephone via the 'recommended' broadband extension lead and it's connected through the sky filter to the phone socket.

      I only got broadband at the start of the month and haven't got it to work yet.

      Thanks a lot.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Trouble

      get rid of the extention...

      'correct/ideal' setup is...

      socket>filter>grey cable supplied to router>router>ethernet to PC (this can be as long as needed)

      any variation on this will likely lead to issues...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Trouble

      First of all take the recommended cable back to pc world and get a refund. If you have no "i" light on your router it means that either the router is broke .

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Trouble

      Is this 'recommended' cable replacing the grey Sky cable? If it is, I think you have been sold an RJ11 extension, which if it is high quality (and it should be at 35 quid), will be OK.

      For the purpose of sorting out your connection it would be better if you used the supplied leads, even if this is inconvenient. You can always change back when you are sorted. Also remember that everything connected to the phone line must run through a filter. This includes Sky digiboxes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION