Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband up & down constantly. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi My Broadband is up and down like a preverbial *****s drawers, especially in the afternoons. I work from home ...

    1. #1
      da8blue's Avatar
      da8blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Erith
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      Hi

      My Broadband is up and down like a preverbial *****s drawers, especially in the afternoons.
      I work from home a lot using a VPN and it will regularly disconnect me about 6-7 times afer 2pm and normally a couple of times before that.
      I'm connecting wirelessly as my office is away from the router but the signal strength is excellent so cannot see any real reason for the drops.
      I'm not very staisfied with Sky overall due to being on the MAX package and only getting 2.2Mb download speeds.
      I know line quality affects this, but I'm only 1.56Km from my exchange, surely within distance for a decent connection.
      Is it worth me trying to cadge a new router from Sky to see if that would make any difference.
      I can see that they have updated the f/w of my current router recently, but had no effect.

      Any suggestions anyone ????



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      post your stats first.

      are your dropouts the router dropping the connection with the exchange or just wireless ?

    4. #3
      da8blue's Avatar
      da8blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Erith
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      How do I gather the stats from the router ?
      It's definately the ADSL connection that goes down. I can still access the router via the wireless connection but the ADSL port settings are normally empty.
      The modem settings normally have something in there which before the firmware upgrade was displaying

      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 2336 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 402kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Its now showing

      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 1888 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 320 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Thx

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      see THIS thread for how to get the detailed stats

    6. #5
      da8blue's Avatar
      da8blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Erith
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      Hi

      I can't get Mognuts utility to work & don't really want to download the .Net Framework.
      I did read somewhere that some of these utilities would not work on upgraded routers.
      Would a paste from the main stats page offer up enough info ?
      It's gone down again whilst I was updating this post.

      Cheers

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      plain router stats are fine, mognuts does not work with upgraded routers
      (i do not know about .net framwork or most other tech things wth computers, i just used the link on the page and i was able to get some lovely detailed stats as below, but not such good figures )
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.2 13.0
      Attn(dB): 40.0 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 6848 672
      Rate (Kbps): 6240 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 196(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 225 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0707 17.0666
      L: 1808 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7968833 7968771
      SFErr: 994 4
      RS: 541880710 33867276
      RSCorr: 102441 112
      RSUnCorr: 36913 0

      HEC: 795 1
      OCD: 63 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1993613101 0
      Data Cells: 3284376 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 692 0
      SES: 583 0
      UAS: 37 0
      AS: 135470

      INP: 2.26 4.26
      PER: 1.87 1.86
      delay: 17.13 34.13
      OR: 29.88 30.00

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 1 days 20 hours 59 min 46 sec
      SF = 19690066
      CRC = 34895
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 9
      ES = 692
      Latest 1 day time = 20 hours 59 min 46 sec
      SF = 4446240
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 46 sec
      SF = 52156
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    8. #7
      da8blue's Avatar
      da8blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Erith
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      Basic stats hopefully attached.
      I this doesn't work I'll post in text format
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Broadband up & down constantly.-stats.jpg  

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      with your noise margin, you should not be seeing dropouts unless you have a very serious problem on the line.

      would you be able to do a test form the "Test" socket (see first link in my sig), if you are still get the dropouts, you should then do a quiet line test. use a corded phone in the test socket with nothing else, dial 17070, then press option 2, if you herer lots of cracks/hiss/pops you have a line problem and wil have to report it to BT


      it may be worth doing the quiet line test first, let us know how you get on

    10. #9
      da8blue's Avatar
      da8blue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Slade Green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Erith
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband up & down constantly.

      I'm already plugged into the test socket. It was one of the things I had to do on a regular basis when first moved over to Sky.
      I have a BT test handset. I'll give the quiet line test a go in the morning and see how it goes.
      I'll post my findings..

      Cheers for the help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION