Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    My router has died :( How to set up another router??

    This is a discussion on My router has died :( How to set up another router?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I need to enter the username and password dont I!?!?! Yes you have to do that, making sure it is ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      I need to enter the username and password dont I!?!?!
      Yes you have to do that, making sure it is exactly correct! You may also have to put in a few more entries like -
      Mode.........G.DMT or Auto
      VPI............0
      VCI...........38
      MTU..........1500
      MRU..........1492
      Tick..........NAT & Firewall
      Select...... PPPoA (if you get the option)

      This how I have a Dlink G604 configured for Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      slayer's Avatar
      slayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackfriar
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      I tried connecting the other night on the DI-524 router with no luck

      selected PPPoE and entered the sky username and password

      clicked on Status and under WAN and the Connection says PPPoE Disconected and wont connect

      Similar things happen if i try different connection types like dynamic ip addresss & static ip address or even Other (PPTP)

      Does it "have" to be PPPoA??? Firmware is old - from 2005. If upgrade will it have PPPoA???

      Is PPPoA is "new" thing.

      Thanks

    4. #23
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      I think there's some confusion about the equipment you have.

      The routers which Sky supply are actually combined ADSL modem-routers. The DI-524 device you have is a router with no modem facility. You would normally use a device like the DI-524 if your ISP or cable provider supplied you with an ADSL modem (with no router facility).

      So you see that the WAN port on your DI-524 corresponds to a "port" which is entirely internal within the Sky router, so there's nothing you can actually plug it into, unless you also have an ADSL modem.

      Now as for the PPPoA thing, PPPoA stands for point-to-point protocol over ATM, PPPoE stands for point-to-point protocol over Ethernet. Traditionally, ADSL providers have used PPPoA because the onward connection from the local telephone exchange to the Internet was over an ATM network (ATM is most commonly used for carrying telephone voice services). Cable providers have traditionally used PPPoE because they don't use ATM networking.

      I've noticed however that on BT ADSL connections (as used by Sky Broadband Connect customers) will actually convert from PPPoE to ATM, so it's possible to specify PPPoE and it would still work, although it would be less efficient. Sky's exchange equipment is not set up to do a conversion like that, so you have to use PPPoA.

      But your biggest problem is that you're trying to use the wrong type of kit.

    5. #24
      slayer's Avatar
      slayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackfriar
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      I think there's some confusion about the equipment you have.

      Admin note:There is no real need for the whole quote when replying, the name and first line will do when original post is right above
      Oh yeah. Thanks for that. I was not thinking. Now that you mention it I now realise that the Dlink is just a router. Opps!!
      Last edited by richone54; 24-04-08 at 11:25 PM.

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      Didn't notice that it was a DI and not a DSL. I wondered why the setup page was so different from my G604T, although a quick look at the D-link site reveals
      Note
      DSL-xxxx Products include a built in ADSL modem - no other modem is required.
      DI-xxxx Products do not include an ADSL modem and are intended for use with Cable Modems. However, a DSL-300T (ADSL Ethernet Modem) can be use with DI-xxx products to enable them for use on ADSL networks.
      It seems it will not even work as an extension to the Sky router. Looks like a candidate for eBay.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      slayer's Avatar
      slayer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackfriar
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      manchester
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My router has died :( How to set up another router??

      I am back online!!!
      I should have got the router from Sky today but no sign of it.
      However it just been out to buy a router from Maplin. Got the same router I had (Netgear D834G) - it was on sale
      The router is slightly different than the one I had - i think its slightly smaller (maybe??) and the lights on the front are arranged abit different.

      Another thing someone could help me with (although maybe I should post this as another thread??)

      On the control panel in the security option there are several option. I know in the past it was set as WPA but there are now a few different options:

      WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
      WPA2-PSK(Wi-Fi Protected Access 2 with Pre-Shared Key)
      WPA-PSK+WPA2-PSK

      Whats the difference??

      I have just chosen "WPA-PSK+WPA2-PSK" and it works fine. Just wondered whats the difference

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION