Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Windows won't connect to the router

    This is a discussion on Windows won't connect to the router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, So I had to reformat and somehow lost my installation discs for windows so used a m8s with my ...

    1. #1
      Scoty's Avatar
      Scoty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows won't connect to the router

      Hey,
      So I had to reformat and somehow lost my installation discs for windows so used a m8s with my key so now I've got a few driver issues which is no problem but I can't access the internet at all, I assumed from previous experience it was basically just plug it in and it's fine however that's not the case.

      I can still have consoles go online so obviously there's something wrong with windows, I just hope someone here knows how I can go about fixing this

      I've read this Sky Router Setup/Configuration
      and saved it to my external hard drive so I can take it home and will try it to see if anything happens but if I can't get to the router at all then I've no idea what to do lol

      I'm thinking though maby I need a driver for my NIC? I don't really know much about the physical aspect of computers lol The router says it's talking to the PC, yet the NIC isn't showing the orange light at all as it usually does, only the green.

      Too bad I don't have my PS3 yet or I could be using that to come on here at home lol

      Thanks,
      Scoty

      EDIT: It's XP I have btw
      Last edited by Scoty; 20-04-08 at 01:42 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      I think you need to reinstall the drivers - see if that helps

    4. #3
      Scoty's Avatar
      Scoty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      I think you need to reinstall the drivers - see if that helps
      Would that be a driver specific to my machine or would it be on the disc that came with the startup kit?(which I've also lost lol)

      Thanks,
      Scoty

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      The nic driver is usually bundled in with the motherboard drivers for the pc. If you know which motherboard it is then you can dl them from the manufacturers site (usually). Hopefully you have internet access at work or a friends you can borrow.


    6. #5
      Scoty's Avatar
      Scoty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      The nic driver is usually bundled in with the motherboard drivers for the pc. If you know which motherboard it is then you can dl them from the manufacturers site (usually). Hopefully you have internet access at work or a friends you can borrow.
      My mind went blank and I couldn't remember my motherboard model, thankfully I've got emails containing it

      FOXCONN 945G7MA (also known as Intel 945G)

      I will have a look now, thouh I think I know where the motherboard disc is infact I forgot all about it lol ty

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      XP has a lot of built in drivers for NICs which don't always work too well, so even if the Device Manager shows that it is installed, it is better to update the drivers to the manufacturers latest. You will find the drivers for your board HERE

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Scoty's Avatar
      Scoty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      XP has a lot of built in drivers for NICs which don't always work too well, so even if the Device Manager shows that it is installed, it is better to update the drivers to the manufacturers latest. You will find the drivers for your board HERE
      I went into the loft and found my motherboard disc and have fixed the audio and NIC though it won't let me install "VGA Driver" as it says my system doesn't meat the minimum requiresments.

      Isitme, I actually found that page when I was at my mums but it was a poor connection so could never run the search lol, thanks a lot though I will keep the link backed up just incase it's needed

      Thanks guys for helping me and for providing fast responses, despite my problems not actually refering to sky at all

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      Did you install the Chipset drivers? Without these the driver disk will not be able to recognize what VGA is required and give you an error. Keep in mind that the Chipset drivers should always be installed first, this allows the different parts of the motherboard to be recognized properly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Scoty's Avatar
      Scoty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      Ohh ok thnx I will do that when I get home again, wouldn't be any hassle to just reformat again as I've not started setting all my preferences an stuff or even got around to installing most of the software I use.

      I've only ever heard of chipset when refering to an OS built into the machine

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Windows won't connect to the router

      There should be no need to format or reinstall. Just install the drivers and everything should be OK.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION