Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    sagem router

    This is a discussion on sagem router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi. new to this forum so firstly to say hi to all. my question is: a friend has just joined ...

    1. #1
      kevpc's Avatar
      kevpc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sagem router

      hi. new to this forum so firstly to say hi to all.
      my question is:
      a friend has just joined sky broadband and has received a sagem router. could someone tell me if the set up is the same as the netgear (cant find any screen dumps of the various pages for the sagem)? will want to change the password from 'sky' to something else to login to the router and also change the ssid. where can these changes be made?

      hope someone can advise, please

      tia


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: sagem router

      Hi

      Its pretty much the same configuration screens. You should be fine.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      kevpc's Avatar
      kevpc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      many tnx for reply. was just a bit unnerved as not all routers have the same set up screens. will see how it goes and let you know.

      tnx again

    5. #4
      kevpc's Avatar
      kevpc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      hi. as you said NewsreadeR, very much like the Netgear. only things i dont like is the wireless range, seems less than the netgear, and that it is only 54mps. thought sky would have kept to at least 108mps with an option to have a faster router if going to a quicker connection

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      The 108mbps on the 834 was only achievable if you used a compatible adapter, ie Netgear. 54mbps is based on a standard and is compatible with all 54 mbps adapters. The router speed does not matter much as far as internet is concerned, you will only get the speed of your connection. The only advantage is in transferring large files within your local network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      kevpc's Avatar
      kevpc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      tnx for reply, Isitme. surely the other thing that a faster router does is give better connection and greater range on wireless? if there is no real advantage over a 54mps router other than local network transfer speed, why bother to develop even faster routers, ie the 'n' versions at around 270mps? i was of the opinion that as connection speeds increased, a quicker router was needed to achieve the speeds. please correct me if wrong. always open to learning.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: sagem router

      Your connection to the Internet can only go as fast as the slowest connection in the path. If your router connects to the equipment at the exchange at a speed of, say, 8Mbit/sec, then it doesn't matter if the connection between your router and your PC is running at 56Mbit/sec, 108Mbit/sec, 270Mbit/sec or even 10Gbit/sec, you still won't be able to access the Internet any faster than 8Mbit/sec.

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      Quote Originally Posted by kevpc View Post
      if there is no real advantage over a 54mps router other than local network transfer speed, why bother to develop even faster routers, ie the 'n' versions at around 270mps?
      because people now use internal networks for media streaming which requires such speeds.

      It's not all just about the Internet anymore.

    10. #9
      kevpc's Avatar
      kevpc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      as it is a 54g router, will the sagem support the 20meg max service from sky or is the netgear (or a different router) needed? if video streaming is wanted, surely the sagem wouldn't cope?

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: sagem router

      It will support the 20Mb. Why would it not support it?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION