Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Downgrade Firmware Please?

    This is a discussion on Downgrade Firmware Please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The only other way to stop it upgrading again would be to use non-Sky firmware, which is ofcourse against the ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      The only other way to stop it upgrading again would be to use non-Sky firmware, which is ofcourse against the T & Cs. It also carries a slightly higher risk of bricking it.

      I am confused though, you are connecting at 10500 but not downloading at above 4000. Is this with wireless? Wired or wireless there may be something else that you are missing. Could be a piggy-back rider or malware. Have a look in the router settings to see if there is a strange connection.

      You could also try running netstat -b at a Command Prompt. This will show you the connections you are making and where they originate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      Quote Originally Posted by ishtar View Post
      ............ I just dont see why they could not leave things well alone, ..........
      Well, maybe Sky could have done that just for you and left the other one million or so customers with badly/non performing Phase 1 routers But for the greater good and all that stuff thankfully they didn't.

      Sky are on a hiding to nothing with their firmware update - they will fix very many (seemingly so by the positive posts received on this forum) and will also break a few (like yours). With 1.4 million customers out there they are not going to be able to please all of them all of the time.

      If you call the router in and see if you can get it replaced with a new Phase 2 router you may well find it works much better for you than even your Phase 1 router.

      It is a shame that the experience for you is not as positive, but Sky simply could not have left things be.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      It's a pity that Ishtar did not get his user name and pass word, it's against T&C's, but he could avoid all these problems by using his own router. So simple.

    5. #14
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      There's nothing stopping him from doing that. All that's needed is the information on the label on the bottom of the router.

    6. #15
      ishtar's Avatar
      ishtar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The only other way to stop it upgrading again would be to use non-Sky firmware, which is ofcourse against the T & Cs. It also carries a slightly higher risk of bricking it.

      I am confused though, you are connecting at 10500 but not downloading at above 4000. Is this with wireless? Wired or wireless there may be something else that you are missing. Could be a piggy-back rider or malware. Have a look in the router settings to see if there is a strange connection.

      You could also try running netstat -b at a Command Prompt. This will show you the connections you are making and where they originate.
      It is Wired no wireless nothing else amiss at all and have this issue on mine laptop aswell


      Quote Originally Posted by Netgeezer View Post
      Well, maybe Sky could have done that just for you and left the other one million or so customers with badly/non performing Phase 1 routers But for the greater good and all that stuff thankfully they didn't.

      Sky are on a hiding to nothing with their firmware update - they will fix very many (seemingly so by the positive posts received on this forum) and will also break a few (like yours). With 1.4 million customers out there they are not going to be able to please all of them all of the time.

      If you call the router in and see if you can get it replaced with a new Phase 2 router you may well find it works much better for you than even your Phase 1 router.

      It is a shame that the experience for you is not as positive, but Sky simply could not have left things be.
      NO you are WRONG they did this specifically to **** me off, 1.4 million customers be damned..they can sink or swim if they come out better its just sheer luck on Skys part the main goal was to screw my tinternet at a time I most need it afaiac


      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      It's a pity that Ishtar did not get his user name and pass word, it's against T&C's, but he could avoid all these problems by using his own router. So simple.
      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      There's nothing stopping him from doing that. All that's needed is the information on the label on the bottom of the router.
      Come again ? tell me more please..I actually have a very nice router its looks much nicer than the white box so am assuming its more expensive and herego better let me go and re-borrow it back from the person I gave it too a year or so ago

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Downgrade Firmware Please?

      I actually have a very nice router its looks much nicer than the white box so am assuming its more expensive and herego better
      That ain't necessarily so, as I think they say in a song, how a router looks has little to do with how it performs. It is what is inside and the firmware that it is running that counts. You don't really think 'go faster' stripes makes a car any faster do you?

      Apart from that, if you can borrow another router and plug it in, that will give you some figures to compare with your attenuation, it does not have to connect as long as it syncs. It is not your connection speed that is the problem though, it is the speed your PCs are downloading. Have they received any updates from MS recently. MS's updates for LAN adapters are sometimes the pits. An update I received once knocked my adapter off completely. I had to re-install the manufacturers driver and now don't allow MS to update any drivers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION