Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Second IP - SKY (need advice)

    This is a discussion on Second IP - SKY (need advice) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm using SKY broadband and I need two public IP addresses, at this moment I only have one address ...

    1. #1
      neos2k1's Avatar
      neos2k1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Hi,

      I'm using SKY broadband and I need two public IP addresses, at this moment I only have one address assigned via DHCP by sky.
      I called sky tech support and ask a lady how to get an second IP address and how much it costs, she had no ideea, i'm not even sure she knows what's an IP address.
      Does anyone have an ideea how to get a second IP from sky ? Thanks a lot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Hi

      Sky do not offer 2 IP addresses - One dynamic one only.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      neos2k1's Avatar
      neos2k1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      They should have others types of services where they offer more than one IP, Iím sure every big ISP has a service for this.
      I'm not using Sky's router which I know it doesn't support 2 IP's, I have my own cisco router.
      Thanks.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      The average user wouldn't need two IP's though, that's probably why Sky don't offer it.

      Also, the bigger ISP's charge a lot more for the service, so can throw in more extras.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      neos2k1's Avatar
      neos2k1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Do you know if it's possible to get one static IP from sky ?
      Thanks.

    7. #6
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      No, they don't offer static IP's either.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Quote Originally Posted by neos2k1 View Post
      Do you know if it's possible to get one static IP from sky ?
      Thanks.
      No, but you could use DynDns if you need to static route a domain etc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Why do you need 2 public IPs on a residential usage service?

    10. #9
      neos2k1's Avatar
      neos2k1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      I'm now using dyndns, thanks for the info.
      In case they offered static IP service I thought they could supply two IPs with that service. I need two public IP's for an application testing.

    11. #10
      neos2k1's Avatar
      neos2k1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Second IP - SKY (need advice)

      Is there any other service from a different ISP that could offer me 2 public IPs?
      I'm not looking for something very expensive. Thanks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION