Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

    This is a discussion on 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just noticed on my router networks screen that someone else near me is now using channel 6 - the gits! ...

    1. #11
      superwomble's Avatar
      superwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover 01304
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      Just noticed on my router networks screen that someone else near me is now using channel 6 - the gits! I understand that this might cause me problems - but I can't see any way to change my channel. Is it possible and is it likely to help me?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      Many want Max for the unlimited download(subject to FUP) and higher upload speed. Plus they will not turn away the chance for more income.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      It may effect you, it may not. You can change the channel by going into the Wireless settings of the router. With the old router set to Auto 108, it is supposed to find the best channel available. If you want to change you will have to change the mode to b & g, you can then use the drop down to set the channel. Try Channel 13, few seem to use it for some reason.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      superwomble's Avatar
      superwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover 01304
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      Thanks for the help.

      I realise some might want Max just for the uploads etc, but most people are only interested in download speed and Sky staff should know when someone can't get any better than the Mid package, or at the very least ask them what their attenuation is and let them know. The customer can then choose whether or not to upgrade, knowing it's not going to help download speeds. As is, they are sailing close to the line of mis-selling products. There must be many people paying twice as much as they need to without realising it, and I think it is a disgrace.

      Thanks again for your help.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      There must be many people paying twice as much as they need to without realising it, and I think it is a disgrace.
      I couldn't agree more, unfortunately profit rules as far as large companies are concerned. Although Sky may not make a profit on broadband, this type of practise helps to reduce the loss.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      superwomble's Avatar
      superwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover 01304
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      Just seen your earlier edit. These are my stats after it's been running a while:

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7904 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.0
      Max(Kbps): 8480 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 7904 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 248(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 248 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0481 8.6153
      L: 1992 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1188405 1188403
      SFErr: 341278 18
      RS: 161623136 10101425
      RSCorr: 71535969 96
      RSUnCorr: 537238 0

      HEC: 212038 22
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 376296125 0
      Data Cells: 1968052 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17495 0
      SES: 10371 0
      UAS: 43 0
      Total time = 5 hours 37 min 47 sec
      SF = 1188405
      CRC = 341278
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17495
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 37 min 47 sec
      SF = 1188405
      CRC = 341278
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17495
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 47 sec
      SF = 27524
      CRC = 15695
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 468
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 28776
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 835
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 25846
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 871
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 22874
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 900
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 22110
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 900

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      I am afraid your stats are very bad, your CRC errors are exceeding 50% at times and your Error seconds are at 100%. To me this means that every bit of data is having to be sent twice or more.

      I think it must be coincidence that this occurred during the change over although it is entirely possible that your modem is faulty or the modem in the exchange is faulty. It is also possible that a severe fault has developed on your phone line. To rule out your internal wiring, plug in to the TEST socket behind the master socket face plate and run the router there for a few hours, then take the stats again. This will isolate all your other internal wiring and show if the fault is out with your control.

      It will not matter much if you use wireless to connect to the router, it will have no effect on the router stats, which only apply to the connection between the router and the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      superwomble's Avatar
      superwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dover 01304
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      Are these stats any better?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 14.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.6
      Max(Kbps): 8352 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 239 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0666 8.6153
      L: 1920 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 200546 200544
      SFErr: 338 0
      RS: 13637168 1704624
      RSCorr: 1166784 2
      RSUnCorr: 466 0

      HEC: 268 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 61243813 0
      Data Cells: 306032 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 34 0
      SES: 7 0
      UAS: 32 0
      Total time = 57 min 36 sec
      SF = 200546
      CRC = 338
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 34
      Latest 1 day time = 57 min 36 sec
      SF = 200546
      CRC = 338
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 34
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 44520
      CRC = 337
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 31
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50165
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 'Upgraded' from Connect to Mid - connection now dropping

      There are still a few errors, but I think they are now at a tolerable rate. Are these from the Test socket? If so it means that the rest of your faults are on the external line, which only BTO can fix. Unfortunately they will not check a line for broadband faults unless requested by Sky, who are always reluctant to request a test due to the cost.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION