Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

    This is a discussion on Need to reboot router in these circumstances? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Posted here as its more of a general query than router specific. Read the stuff about the relationship between ...

    1. #1
      Longshanks's Avatar
      Longshanks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      Hi

      Posted here as its more of a general query than router specific.

      Read the stuff about the relationship between noise margin and drop out.

      These are router stats taken tonite.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 293:47:17

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 293363 465894 0 85 882 186:25:34
      LAN 100M/Full 991419 709753 0 1150 166 293:47:13
      WLAN 11M/54M 128580 0 0 38 0 293:47:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4480 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52 db 14 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 13 db

      I know a certain amount of noise is inevitable due to attenuation (3.5KM from exchange) and have improved internal wiring no end. NM often goes below 6db in the evenings but so far am rarely roubled with drop out it seems. Our 5 year old is playing kids' games for about 2 hours a night trouble free.

      Is it likely that I must have rebooted when NM was low (can't recall as I aint switched it orrrf for a while!).

      Would anyone recommend rebooting as recommended when NM drops considerably?

      Many thanks L


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      Hi L.
      If your router holds on o.k then all is well, leave it switched on and let it gather dust, just run the vac over it about every six months

    4. #3
      Longshanks's Avatar
      Longshanks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      Thanks Brian

      Seriously tho-is it good practice to switch orrrf every now and then? Ie when you can fry an egg on it?

      Ta
      L

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      Hi L.
      Well it should not get that hot!. I have the sagem, sitting flat, and it only gets slightly warm and then only over the area of the main chip. Have you got your Netgear well ventilated?.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      The Version 2 routers are able to hold the connection much better than the Version 1, some have reported it dropping to 2-3 dbs and still holding, so I don't think you have anything to worry about. Whether you switch it off is a matter of personal preference. I think I read in the forum that it uses very little power and keeping it running will cost less than 1 a year. Just starting your car in the morning will contribute more to your 'carbon footprint'.

      If you do switch it on during a very quiet noise period and the NM does drop low when the line gets noisy, a reboot in the evening will fix it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Longshanks's Avatar
      Longshanks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitchurch Cardiff
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need to reboot router in these circumstances?

      Thanks for these replies.

      Version 2 router aint that hot really.

      L

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION