Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky Base Uncapped?

    This is a discussion on Sky Base Uncapped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm on base connection, with speed's capped to 2084 / 256 kbps. I achieve regularly 1745 / 212 kbps. (exchange ...

    1. #1
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Base Uncapped?

      I'm on base connection, with speed's capped to 2084 / 256 kbps. I achieve regularly 1745 / 212 kbps. (exchange distance 2.7km).

      Someone I know similarly has 'Base' and his stats are; 7036 / 670 and he gets actual connection speeds of 6800 / 540, he is definitely not paying the extra fiver a month.

      My exchange is LLU / SkyEasynet enabled, his has neither, but he is less than half a kilometer from it?

      Are Sky unable to 'govern' connection speeds on non-unbundled exchanges?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      Either you or your friend is mistaken.

      If his exchange isn't LLU and he's a Sky customer then he's not on Base, he's on Connect. To have this he'd be paying 17 (or 5 if the exchange is due to go LLU shortly).

      However, he'd not have the stats you report as Connect has an upstream sync of 448kbps which means (if the stats are correct) then he has to be LLU with a Sky Max profile.

    4. #3
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      Thanks Saturday,

      He only has (he says) one payment out to Sky a month, which is his TV package direct debit, which apparently has remained unaltered since he switched to Sky broadband a year ago. 'Samknows' reveals his exchange as non LLU. I'll get him to run another speedtest to check the downstream and also get full router stats.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      If correct, it's his upstream which shows he is on Sky Max. Samknows is sometimes incorrect or he may not be on the exchange you think he is.

      With regard to his payment, there have been cases in the past where the BB part hasn't been set up properly and so isn't charged. However, I think you should advise your friend that there's a good chance this will be discovered at some time in the future. If (more likely when) this happens Sky will want their money. If he doesn't pay they'll quickly cut off his BB and his TV, then put their debt collection agency onto him. They don't mess around.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      I think Sat is correct and he is not on the exchange he thinks he is. You are not always connected to the nearest exchange. He does not appear to be on Connect as his upload is too high. He should get it sorted as it could end up costing him a lot of money.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think Sat is correct and he is not on the exchange he thinks he is. You are not always connected to the nearest exchange. He does not appear to be on Connect as his upload is too high. He should get it sorted as it could end up costing him a lot of money.
      My friend only asked for Base, (a year ago now), as he's a low rate user, virtually email only, and knew nothing about stats etc, till I had a look, as his speeds were so good compared to mine.

      As he requested 'Base', he should be 'charge-free', even if it results in a cap, to correct an initial error. Retro charging, would I feel be a difficult position to justify, as he never requested a better package and the mistake is Sky's?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      Yep, I can't see how they could charge him arrears if he is on Base - but, the problem could be that he's not on an "uncapped" Base package but on an "uncharged" Max.

      My advice to him would be to call Sky and check he's really Base.

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      This is similar to when BT "forgot" to charge for calls to some customers for 6 months and then they asked for all in 1 go.

      When people queried this on BBC2's Working Lunch programme they were told that companies have 6 years to chase you up for mistakes they make if that involes the company being out of pocket.

      So Sky still have 5 years to notice and to charge for the max product even though it was a fault that Sky has made. don't you just love corporate law?
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Base Uncapped?

      When he first started with Sky Broadband, he would receive a letter and in the letter would be the package that he signed up for. If it says there that he is on the free Base package, he should be OK as far as back charges are concerned. I think what has happened is that whoever set the line up has made a mistake and connected it incorrectly. This would be surprising as Sky employees seldom make mistakes

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION