Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Wired or wireless?

    This is a discussion on Wired or wireless? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Admin note: new thread created. Post was tacked on to Sky refuse to take me to Sky Max and ADSL2+ ...

    1. #1
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Wired or wireless?

      Admin note: new thread created. Post was tacked on to Sky refuse to take me to Sky Max and ADSL2+ in router stats forum.
      Please don't hijack threads - start your own





      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:11:30

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9019 10654 0 5161 24890 00:07:53
      LAN 100M/Full 11199 9634 0 17936 4046 00:11:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 65 17 0 14 2 00:11:14
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6571 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 16 db

      the above speedtest was done about 10minutes ago with my router hardwired to pc
      connected on a telephone extension cable(previously used for skybox) which is about 20 meters from master socket the router stats show 6,5 meg connection,


      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:07:04

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6536 6197 0 12106 16500 00:05:14
      LAN 100M/Full 60 0 0 21 0 00:07:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 6447 6817 0 13296 9408 00:06:48
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 18 db


      this second speedtest was done 5 minutes ago with the router working directly from master socket on a 2 meter router cable and working wirelessly notice router now syncs at 16meg

      half my internal cable to the master socket has a gpo cable connector and cable lenght of around 20 foot which is 21 years since it was installed also master socket is 21 years old so no split face or test socket intend to replace connector cable and master will a) wireless connection at master increase in speed or b) will hardwire connection increase sync and maintain or increase in speed.
      Last edited by Saturday; 14-04-08 at 12:25 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      I think the stats speak for themselves. Ditch the extension and connect via ethernet. The first speedtest which is wired is close to your sync. The second which is wireless is miles away. However look at your sync on the second set without the extension - 16379, people would die for that.
      Last edited by dholdi; 14-04-08 at 12:34 AM.


    4. #3
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      yeh but the ethernet would have to go from dinningroom at rear of living or sittingroom to my hallway where master socket is located which by going around the walls would mean around 20 meters

      heluva lot of cable run

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      Ethernet is good for upto 100m, If it were me I'd be finding a way to do it an hide the cable under the edge of the carpet or under the floorboards etc.


    6. #5
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      might get hold of bt openreach engineer (brother of workmate) to come and put a new mastersocket in dinning room as bt cable enters house from the rear then ethernet cable supplied with router would work perfectly, would just need to find out if daughters laptop will pick up wireless signal upstairs through ceiling, althought it should as her bedroom is directly above where router would sit

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      Yeah - that sounds like a plan, should be ok with the wireless, depending on how your house is constructed. Mines a trad semi and although I abhor wireless my wifes laptop picks it up fine in all rooms.


    8. #7
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      yeh traditional semi with wooden floor to bedroom above plaster ceilling

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      Should be fine then


    10. #9
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      got the new nte5 master socket on order, with work mate whos bro works with BT hopefully he will get an adsl splitter/filter face plate to go with it

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wired or wireless?

      Apart from anything else, the extension supplied by Sky fitters is about as cheap and nasty as you can get, never use it for ADSL. I am sure there are a lot of broadband newbies doing this and don't know how much they are loosing.

      Your proposed plan is very good

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION