Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Netgear DG834GT problems

    This is a discussion on Netgear DG834GT problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all... over the last few days i have been having major problems with my internet with sky... i am ...

    1. #1
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear DG834GT problems

      hi all...

      over the last few days i have been having major problems with my internet with sky... i am on the BB max tariff, unlimited use and have the Netgear DG834GT with FW V1.02.28 and running Vista

      i have notised pages taking longer to load and more frequently timing out, this is not specific to certain websites and seems to effect all of them.

      the connection also seems to be dropping, get the icon popping up in the notification area "limited or no connectivity" then i do a repair and it reports a DNS problem or it will repair the connection

      i have run some extended ping command to BBC - Homepage and also to the router 192.168.0.1 and there are unusual amounts of packets being dropped..

      e.g.

      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=245
      Request timed out.
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=245
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Request timed out.
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=245
      Reply from 66.249.91.99: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=245

      I have spoken to sky tech support, but they only created a manual DNS entry for 192.168.0.1 on my tcp/ip setting for me wifi, this has not made any difference

      anyone have any ideas or suggestions..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      If your router firmware has not yet been updated, post your detailed stats using Bounce or Mognuts. Link below. If it has been updated, post the basic stats from your router.

      You could also try OpenDNS servers details of how to set it up can be found here-
      OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      based on my current FW for the router it hasnt been updated, i can do this manually but cant find the image file

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      When it is updated the router will not accept the diagnostic tools so don't even think of trying to update it manually until you have taken your detailed stats using the tool recommended. There is a small chance that the new firmware will cure your problem, but if it doesn't, you have no way to look into the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      ok thanks for the tip, the current detailed stats from the tool are as follows:-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3872 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.4 13.0
      Attn(dB): 59.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.0 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 4480 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3872 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 122(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 122 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1300 8.6153
      L: 984 208
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 66338 66336
      SFErr: 7 0
      RS: 4511052 563856
      RSCorr: 1432 4
      RSUnCorr: 159 0

      HEC: 6 0
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10297619 0
      Data Cells: 87008 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5 0
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 19 min 20 sec
      SF = 66338
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 1 day time = 19 min 20 sec
      SF = 66338
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 20 sec
      SF = 15408
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50930
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      Even for the short time covered by the stats, you are showing errors. Have you recently made any changes to your internal wiring, plugged something in without a filter, started using any new electronic equipment or such like. It may be better to plug your router into the Test socket, behind the Master socket faceplate, this would eliminate any internal wiring faults. Run it there for 3 or 4 hours, then post your stats again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      no changes have been made and no additional equipment has been added to the router. the router is currently, and always has been plugged directly into the test socket behind the master face plate (there is only one in my flat)

    9. #8
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      from the logs on the bounce tool i keep getting these entries

      13/04/2008 12:55:18, WEBPAGE, Google Success 97ms
      13/04/2008 12:55:20, WEBPAGE, eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace Success 1150ms
      13/04/2008 12:55:30, STATS, 00:52:01; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25037853 bytes; 3464304 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:55:45, STATS, 00:52:16; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25046042 bytes; 3475404 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:55:49, WEBPAGE, Google Success 197ms
      13/04/2008 12:55:50, WEBPAGE, eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace Success 1317ms
      13/04/2008 12:56:05, WARNING, Problem communicating with router. Auto-reboot functionality is now disabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:05, INFO, Communication with the router has been established. Auto-reboot functionality is now enabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:05, STATS, 00:52:16; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25046042 bytes; 3475404 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:56:19, WEBPAGE, Google Success 161ms
      13/04/2008 12:56:20, WARNING, Problem communicating with router. Auto-reboot functionality is now disabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:20, INFO, Communication with the router has been established. Auto-reboot functionality is now enabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:20, STATS, 00:52:16; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25046042 bytes; 3475404 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:56:20, WEBPAGE, eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace Success 1200ms
      13/04/2008 12:56:30, STATS, 00:53:01; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25399812 bytes; 3499610 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:56:48, WEBPAGE, Google Success 108ms
      13/04/2008 12:56:50, WARNING, Problem communicating with router. Auto-reboot functionality is now disabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:50, INFO, Communication with the router has been established. Auto-reboot functionality is now enabled.
      13/04/2008 12:56:50, STATS, 00:53:01; 3872 kbps; 7.5 db; 25399812 bytes; 3499610 bytes
      13/04/2008 12:56:50, WEBPAGE, eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace Success 1196ms

      what does "Problem communicating with router" mean, would this be a router issue or an issue with the laptop wifi

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      That is quite revealing, I did not realize you were connecting wirelessly. There is every chance that you wireless connection is 'playing up'. The first thing I would try is disabling WZC or WLAN Auto Configure as it is known in Vista and use the adapters software to configure your connection. To do this click Start and type Services, right click the Services icon which will appear in the pane above and select 'Run as Administrator'. When the Services pane appears scroll down the list to near the bottom and double click WLAN Auto Configure to open it's properties, click the Stop button then use the drop down box and select 'Disabled'. Your PC should now use the adapters software to make the wireless connection. If it makes no difference, repeat the above and select 'Automatic' in the drop down box to reverse it.

      Have you installed Vista Sp1 yet, this was one of the things it is supposed to fix?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      theurbanpixie's Avatar
      theurbanpixie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wimbledon
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GT problems

      ok will give this a go, although i havent had any problems as severe as these until the last two days or so.....

      would it be worth flashing the router the new FW to see if this makes any chance, is there a link for the new image file on this website

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION