Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    why does phone cut off my broaband

    This is a discussion on why does phone cut off my broaband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ah. well in that case I would wait untill after the 16th and your change to Sky. If the fault ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Ah. well in that case I would wait untill after the 16th and your change to Sky. If the fault is still there, and you have checked all your kit as far as you can, then you will have to get Sky to tell BT. BT will not charge as long as the fault is not with your kit/wiring.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Try unplugging the Sky box for a while and then try it. Some boxes can cause terrible problems. I am inclined to agree with Brian's earlier assessment that it is a wiring fault. If it is still present using the test socket with a corded phone it is definitely the outside line. What's wrong with phoning your present ISP to get BT on the job? You are unlikely to get Sky to do this except as a last resort. As a new user it could take weeks.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Hi Isitme.
      I was thinking that the present ISP will not be overly concerned if the move is on the 16th (today is the 12th).

    5. #14
      hurcombe6's Avatar
      hurcombe6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: port talbot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi Isitme.
      I was thinking that the present ISP will not be overly concerned if the move is on the 16th (today is the 12th).
      thats why i didnt ring aol dont think they would want to bother to get bt to call with only a few days to go
      are sky that bad in getting bt to call then

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      You are sure to go through the pain of speed capping and prob a new router before Sky pass this to BT.

    7. #16
      hurcombe6's Avatar
      hurcombe6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: port talbot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      You are sure to go through the pain of speed capping and prob a new router before Sky pass this to BT.
      ok thanks

      what do you think of the sagem router thats the one they sent me

    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      I cannot comment on the wireless performance as I don't use it, but it is solid in all other depts.

    9. #18
      hurcombe6's Avatar
      hurcombe6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: port talbot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      I cannot comment on the wireless performance as I don't use it, but it is solid in all other depts.
      will it hold on to a low snr like the netgear

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      The Netgear and the Sagem sem to have the same performance in this respect. I have a nice line with only a 1 to 2 db drop at night so I have no problems myself, but I don't think anyone has complained about it's performance.

    11. #20
      hurcombe6's Avatar
      hurcombe6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: port talbot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: why does phone cut off my broaband

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      The Netgear and the Sagem sem to have the same performance in this respect. I have a nice line with only a 1 to 2 db drop at night so I have no problems myself, but I don't think anyone has complained about it's performance.
      ok thanks for all your help and advice brian

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION