Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 82

    My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

    This is a discussion on My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes that seems correct. If you have no extensions there will be no wires on the faceplate. If you have ...

    1. #71
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Yes that seems correct. If you have no extensions there will be no wires on the faceplate. If you have extensions, they must be wired incorrectly and could be the source of your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      cockneycomic's Avatar
      cockneycomic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi.
      Yes that could be right, are there any other junction boxes between the master and where the line enters? If not do you live in a block of flats? (I know that sounds like a daft question, but the colours would be right if the cable comes from a central point in the block.)


      Nope, no other junction boxes between the master and where the wire leaves my home.

      Yep, i'm in a block of flats...not a big one though, 20 flats in all

    4. #73
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Ah. It is more than likely that your problem lies in the wiring of the building. It's offen the case that all the cables are run in the same trunking, with only minimal seperation between mains and telephone cables. How you deal with this will depend on your landlord/freeholder, but I think you may just have to live with it.

    5. #74
      cockneycomic's Avatar
      cockneycomic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Ah. It is more than likely that your problem lies in the wiring of the building. It's offen the case that all the cables are run in the same trunking, with only minimal seperation between mains and telephone cables. How you deal with this will depend on your landlord/freeholder, but I think you may just have to live with it.

      *sigh*

      Thanks.

      This is a Council home, and we all know that they won't do a thing

      LOL.

    6. #75
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      There is something else that is confusing me. Earlier you said the was no dialtone on your extensions when you removed the faceplate. Then a couple of posts back you say there was no wires attached to the faceplate. There is something wrong there. If you have no wires on the faceplate you can have no extensions unless a)You are not actually at the Master socket or b) the wires have been connected direct to the incoming line. If this was he case you should hear dialtone even when the faceplate is removed. Thoughts?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #76
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Perhaps the extensions are connected by a plug into the master socket.

    8. #77
      cockneycomic's Avatar
      cockneycomic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is something else that is confusing me. Earlier you said the was no dialtone on your extensions when you removed the faceplate. Then a couple of posts back you say there was no wires attached to the faceplate. There is something wrong there. If you have no wires on the faceplate you can have no extensions unless a)You are not actually at the Master socket or b) the wires have been connected direct to the incoming line. If this was he case you should hear dialtone even when the faceplate is removed. Thoughts?

      No, I said after I took the extension out...there was no dial tone on the extension. So I knew it wasn't connected when I did tests using the Test Socket.

      I am using the Master Socket, because A) It's the NTE5 model and is the only one that connects my phone to the outside world B) I do hear a dial tone when the faceplate is removed.

      My extension is done via a spliter connected into my Master socket...and no, this is not the reason my download speed is not up to stratch because the speed is roungly the same with it plugged in or out.

      DSL splitter into Master Socket - Extension splitter into DSL splitter - SKY BOX splitter into Extension splitter.

      No matter how many variations I try with that...download speed is again roughly the same, no improvment.

      The extention leads into my bedroom via through the wall which I did myself.

      The socket in my bedroom was already there when I moved in, so just had to buy the splitter and wire it up.

    9. #78
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Perhaps the extensions are connected by a plug into the master socket.
      That suddenly occurred to my while drinking my 4th pint in the pub last night, don't know why, it just did.

      Look like you are back to square one, flats are nearly always going to be a problem for broadband. As you say the Council are not likely to be sympathetic.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #79
      cockneycomic's Avatar
      cockneycomic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That suddenly occurred to my while drinking my 4th pint in the pub last night, don't know why, it just did.

      Look like you are back to square one, flats are nearly always going to be a problem for broadband. As you say the Council are not likely to be sympathetic.

      Alcohol! It's fantastic! LOL

      Cheers *picks up his pint of Guinness*

    11. #80
      cockneycomic's Avatar
      cockneycomic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My stats after 1 day on Max...what do peeps think?

      Hey guys,

      Remember me?

      Just thought i'd let you know that I just checked my stats, mainly because I haven't done for sometime and found this:-


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10051 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 12.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 16.0 db



      My connection speed has now jumped up to over 10000kbps, from just over 8000kbps.

      Just wondering what could have caused this?

     

     
    Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION