Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Cd To Usb?

    This is a discussion on Cd To Usb? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok well atm my old pc im running on a Pentium 4 Dimension 3000, Dont laugh my new beast is ...

    1. #1
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Cd To Usb?

      Ok well atm my old pc im running on a

      Pentium 4
      Dimension 3000, Dont laugh my new beast is coming tomorrow

      Anyway my mum recently purchased a laptop with the new ISP to go with it (Which im very happy with the speeds ), but i tried installing the sky cd on the pc but it does'nt work, so i tried placing the files onto a memory stick and ran the setup but the little red bar just stays the same constantly and doesnt move.

      Now i've tried this a few times and still does the same, is there any other way in which i can try installing the setup excluding the cd drive because that obviously does'nt work. i've deleted the files and placed them back on the memory stick quite a few times now...

      I was thinking of using daemon tools to mount the setup virtually so that might be a way,

      Any others?

      regards,

      Gaz

      P.S currently running on 16mbs and with a black router, netgear, not sure which version sorry.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      VEG's Avatar
      VEG
      VEG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maesteg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      You dont really expalin what you are trying to do? You dont need to use the sky cd to connect to the internet

    4. #3
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      Ok well i want to install sky on my pc without using a cd because the cd drive doe'snt work.

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      Assuming you have an active telephone line and a Sky bb account, you should just be able to plug it in and go

    6. #5
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      Obvioulsy not because on this laptop i ran the cd drive as normal and plugged the router in,

      im guessing the pc cannot run the internet without the instillation, but i have no idea on how to use the instillation without a cd because its broken and everytime i transfer it to a memory stick it doesnt work.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      you plug in the ethernet and thats it - the CD has NO settings to make the internet work so just throw it away...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      xD thanks guy's. Plugged in Restarted pc and it worked.

      Have noticed though if i take a cable out and put it back in it wont work unless ive restarted/logged off pc.

    9. #8
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cd To Usb?

      Quote Originally Posted by Gaz1234 View Post
      xD thanks guy's. Plugged in Restarted pc and it worked.

      Have noticed though if i take a cable out and put it back in it wont work unless ive restarted/logged off pc.
      possibly a quirk of your network hardware.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION