Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    With Reference to Capping when you are connected

    This is a discussion on With Reference to Capping when you are connected within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There have been posts on the forum with regards to very slow speeds and a lot of people have been ...

    1. #1
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      With Reference to Capping when you are connected

      There have been posts on the forum with regards to very slow speeds and a lot of people have been informed that SkyBB new connections at 128kbps and that Sky's technical guys tweak it and take the cap off.

      I have now confirmed with SkyBB that they do not cap anyone when you migrated over.
      There is no way that tier3 are capping user at 128 or any other speed when they migrate over, if BT send them over at 128kbs thats the speed they get until we notice the mistake.

      They only cap users if there is an issue on the line and not before.
      I hope this will put everyones mind at rest and if anyone is having really bad speed issues please call SkyBB Tech Support and they will get the problem sorted out.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry I can't resist.....

      I feel vindicated that this capping idea mooted on this forum by a particular poster was always a load of old hogwash and was ultimately misleading for all skyuser members.

      Okay, got that off my chest.

      spcdust

    4. #3
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes well I have no comments to make on that, but it should clear up any misconception people have who have read any other post to the contrary.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #4
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Well, I am alright now as I got my ADSL extension wire and hey presto 7Mb

    6. #5
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thats great news mate
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #6
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by englishwhistler View Post
      Well, I am alright now as I got my ADSL extension wire and hey presto 7Mb
      Is that some kind of special cable? Does it make for a better connection than a normal telphone extension?

    8. #7
      skyhelp's Avatar
      skyhelp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      so ppl might sugest that you get a longer RJ11 cable but personally i think a longer ethernet cable holds more data, and it shortens the distance between the fone exchange and router to get you better speeds if plugged into the master socket, usually the one next to the front door

    9. #8
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thats is correct, ethernet is the only cable you should extend as it is shielded and can go upto about 100meters without losing data. the phone cables however do not.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION