Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

    This is a discussion on New to Sky...with dropouts and issues. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Recently came over to Sky from F2S mainly to save a tenner a month. Never could fault F2s for quality, ...

    1. #1
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Recently came over to Sky from F2S mainly to save a tenner a month. Never could fault F2s for quality, line never dropped, ok speed was never great but I'm a distance from the exchange so I always new I'd never get full whack.

      With Sky it seems to take quite a while just to connect and I experience a lot of line dropping, especially noticable when on my Xbox360 playing across LIVE.

      I've already managed to get my passord/username out of the black Netgear router and put the details into my old BT2100 Voyager which seems to connect a lot quicker.

      What I want to know is are there programs I can use to monitor each router for a period then compare results to see what's going on ?

      Any other suggestions would be greatfully recieved !!

      I've included some stats from the Netgear below to get things rolling.

      TIA.
      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 00:57:53
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 16 15 0 37 195 00:00:46
      LAN 100M/Full 9779 7352 0 3066 350 00:57:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 355 0 0 12 0 00:57:37
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4448 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 14 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 14 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      check your internal wiring.

      with your last ISP there is a great chance you were capped at a low speed which would hide most errors (noise) on your line

      have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum for tips

    4. #3
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Router stats from the test socket

      ystem Up Time: 00:07:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 6 3 0 5 1 00:00:50
      LAN 100M/Full 6599 4374 0 15388 1061 00:07:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 205 0 0 158 0 00:07:23
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5568 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50 db 14 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 13 db


      Am i right in thinking that theres not a whole lot of difference between the test socket and my first stats, which are taken from the bedroom the pc and router live in.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      ^^^^^^^^
      Only a 20% increase in your sync speed

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Occurs to me to give you guys a full idea of my setup here.

      Master socket has telephone and sky+ box via microfilter plugged in.

      Socket in bedroom where pc and router plug in via microfilter.

      Socket in kitchen, unused.

      Double socket in dining room, unused.

      2 disconnected single sockets in dining room for 2 extra lines (people before us used to run their businesses from home so I'm guessing fax lines or something).

      Xbox360 connects via official wirelss adapter.

      Always happy enough with my connection on LIVE, always strong signal on the wireless just the infernal dropping of the line.

      Spent about half an hour switching between Netgear and BT routers and BT always syncs and fully connects quicker.

    7. #6
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      I started to wonder about other settings in the router as I noticed I can change MTU rates and stuff on the BT but see no options for tweaking the Netgear....

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Log into the router and go to the WAN Set up, you can change the MTU there. I think 1500 is the default that works best with Sky.

      Just realized you have the newer router, which may be different.
      Last edited by Isitme; 06-04-08 at 05:44 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      had a look and I can't see where I can adjust MTU at all, must be closed off on this router

      Had major problems this afternoon, really slow web browsing, lots of drops, no DNS according to xbox network testing but as soon as I plug in the BT router all is well. I'd like to just use the one that works but I don't want to get into bother for breaking Skys T&C's.....

    10. #9
      ninjakrash's Avatar
      ninjakrash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01207
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Tell a lie, I found where to change MTU setting, my BT was set to 1400 so I'm gonna try that, see what happens.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky...with dropouts and issues.

      Another option is using OpenDNS many find that this cures drop out problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION