Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Brookwood Surrey Exchange

    This is a discussion on Brookwood Surrey Exchange within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is anyone here using Sky Broadband through Brookwood exchange (01483)? If so, could you let me know what connection speed ...

    1. #1
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Is anyone here using Sky Broadband through Brookwood exchange (01483)? If so, could you let me know what connection speed you are getting? I'm thinking of switching to Sky as I'm so hacked off with my current ISP....
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      What other users are getting will have no relevance to what you will achieve. Do you know the attenuation figure from your current router? That will give a good idea as to what you can expect.

    4. #3
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Thanks for the reply. How do I determine the attenuation figure?

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      That would depend on what router/modem you are currently using. It is usually in the routers status or statistics page.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      THIS PAGE will allow you to find out how to obtain your stats. It covers many different routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      I have followed the instructions for my router, which is Linksys WAG54GS. After following all the procedures it tells me (in the cmd dos window):
      "Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: connect failed"

      Does anyone know how to fix this?

      Thanks

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      It seems you have a version of the firmware which does not support this method. Have a look at This Thread for some info. Sorry there is nothing else I can suggest.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Thanks for trying to help - appreciate it. I really only wanted to know whether, if I switched ISP to Sky, I would get approx the same connection speed as I get now, given that the router and copper wires remain the same....

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Unless you are on one of the 'up to 24mbps' packages, you will get much the same. If you are on a 'slow' package like 2mbps, you will probably do better.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      I note from your first post on the forum that you are with vispa on a bt package, presumably using BT MAX ADSL and were getting speeds of between 5500Kbps and 6000Kbps. If you swap to either SKY mid or max LLU packages you should get similar line speeds but without the traffic shaping that the BT products suffer from. You will get a new router, which under the T&C's you have to use. If the LLU capacity on your exchange is full you will get offered connect, but as its also BT MAX ADSL I don't think you would be any better off.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION