Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Brookwood Surrey Exchange

    This is a discussion on Brookwood Surrey Exchange within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Unless you are on one of the 'up to 24mbps' packages, you will get much the ...

    1. #11
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unless you are on one of the 'up to 24mbps' packages, you will get much the same. If you are on a 'slow' package like 2mbps, you will probably do better.
      I am on "up to 8Mbps" so I guess it will be about the same...thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      I note from your first post on the forum that you are with vispa on a bt package, presumably using BT MAX ADSL and were getting speeds of between 5500Kbps and 6000Kbps. If you swap to either SKY mid or max LLU packages you should get similar line speeds but without the traffic shaping that the BT products suffer from. You will get a new router, which under the T&C's you have to use. If the LLU capacity on your exchange is full you will get offered connect, but as its also BT MAX ADSL I don't think you would be any better off.
      My speed recently has dropped (Vispa say it's due to traffic at the exchange), and I now get between 4000Kbps and 4400Kbps, but never higher. I used to get on average between 5500 and 6000Kbps. That's one of the reasons I want to change - however, it's more to do with the horrendous email problems I've been having with them (Hotmail, AOL and Btinternet regularly block email from Vispa due to spamming issues).
      How do I find out if my exchange is full, as I don't want to be on BT max. Thanks for your very helpful and knowledgeable reply.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      You can check what Sky can offer you by going Here and putting your phone number in the box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You can check what Sky can offer you by going Here and putting your phone number in the box.
      Thanks for the link. It tells me that I can get Sky broadband - does this mean that the exchange is not full? In addition, it tells me I need a BT landline to order Sky Broadband. However, my phone line rental is paid to Vispa not BT - is this going to be a problem? I do not have a BT account any more.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      If the exchange was full Sky would only offer you Connect, a re-badged BT package. If they are offering Base, Mid and Max you will be OK.

      Provided the line is BT compatible, I don't think there will be a problem. If you have Sky TV you would have to have a BT compatible phone. In fact, if you wanted, you could change your phone rental to Sky as well. They do quite good deals on the phone depending on your requirements. The best way to find out is to phone them and see what they can offer you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Algoz's Avatar
      Algoz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Brookwood Surrey Exchange

      Great - thanks for you advice/help!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION