Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    sky broadband initial connection

    This is a discussion on sky broadband initial connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi at around 2pm I setup my new sky broadband it is the 8mb mid package. When I initially connected ...

    1. #1
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky broadband initial connection

      Hi at around 2pm I setup my new sky broadband it is the 8mb mid package. When I initially connected it had downstream connection speed at 6302 kbps and upstream connection speed at about 120 kbps. Now it is at 4928 kbps and upload is at 384 kbps. I was just wondering did the speeds change to what my line can support or is something else up here.

      The statistics are as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4928 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 13 db

      thanks
      Last edited by rocket12; 03-04-08 at 10:49 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Call sky i can almost guarantee that you are getting errors on the line i will explain when you have called sky and posted what happened if thats what you are going to do.

    4. #3
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      ok thanks I will give sky a call in the morning.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      you could have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum first for tips on how to improve your wirirng (have a quick look at the first link in my sig)
      looking at your stats (the low noise margin) i would guess you have a noisy line, most likely due to using an extention


      if/when you phone the only thing they can do if you do have loads of errors is to cap you (make your connection slower) but they will ask you to connect to the test socket first anyway, so why not try before you call

    6. #5
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      No i have actually put peoples upload speed up if i think this is the problem i am thinking about.

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      so your the one who keeps putting people on 1meg upload

      Jonny, you are certainly better placed than me to see more into some problems, but most of the time dodgy wiring is the cause, if internal wiring is all up to scratch then it can only make your job easier
      Last edited by richone54; 04-04-08 at 12:42 AM. Reason: drap spelliong

    8. #7
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Not quite i do not put them that high lol
      And i do apreciate that 99% of the time it is internal wiring.
      And i thank you for making my job easier and everyone else on this forum who helps aswell.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      you should only be adjusting upstream to 416 for Base/Mid - any higher and you're going against Sky's package figures...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Thats what i do and who are you to be telling me what i can and can't do are you not in tier 1.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      HELL NO i'm not tier 1 - i'm probably higher than you!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION