Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    sky broadband initial connection

    This is a discussion on sky broadband initial connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; what i would do is call sky and just get through to cst and get them to sort it out. ...

    1. #21
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      what i would do is call sky and just get through to cst and get them to sort it out.
      And i will say 1 thing tell them to change your upload speed to 416kbps and put your download speed as high as they can get it and if you be nice they will go out of there way to help you believe me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      hi i did the speedcheck and it says my line can carry up to 2.5mb, but i was getting 5mb.
      It has been stated many times in the forum, that this test grossly underestimates a lines capabilities for Sky LLU, sometimes by 100%. Unfortunately, Sky appear to use this figure to calculate your 'avail speed' so you will probably be told that this is as much as your line can handle, even if you know this is not true. Jonny1310's advice will be fine if you are lucky enough to get him or someone with a similar outlook, but you are just as likely to get someone who thinks you are trying to tell you how to do his job and will fob you off.

      The main thing is to make sure your internal wiring is as good as possible, before phoning them. There is no substitute for a proper Master socket, but if you have read the Cable part of the forum you will have found out about the ring wire. Disconnecting this alone can make a huge difference to your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      No,what i was suggesting was that we get this figure so that if she contacts sky then they cannot say that the line can only handle this so at least rocket knows what bt say the availible speed is.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Exactly, "Our checks shows your line can only handle 2.5mb, so tough"

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      More like our checks show that your line can only handle 2.5mbps so we will cap your line and send you out a new router lol.

      This is what the idiots who work at sky would do.

    7. #26
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      LOL I thought you were CST Jonny?

    8. #27
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      I am but there are idiots in it aswell lol.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION