Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    sky broadband initial connection

    This is a discussion on sky broadband initial connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well then what are you?...

    1. #11
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Well then what are you?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      now that would be telling, but i've been CST from the start...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      So your not any higher than me then.

    5. #14
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      ^lets keep the identities for those who work in Sky safe, having someone on the inside is a really great privilege. IF they were caught its there jobs in the firing line.

      "knowledge is power"

    6. #15
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Good idea mate.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,887
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      ^lets keep the identities for those who work in Sky safe,
      You spoilsport Monday, I was just beginning to enjoy that little tÍte-a-tÍte

      richone54 comments still stand, with an SNR as low as that something is wrong with the wiring.
      Last edited by Isitme; 05-04-08 at 01:49 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Hi i didnt ring sky because i decided to do the testing on the master socket. the thing is that I didnt have a master socket, where the wiring enters my house. I opened the two boxes there and there was nothing there i could connect to. We used to have telewest a few years ago and I can only think that may be the reason for that.

      Anyway I turned the router on around the same time as yesterday and I was getting a connection speed of about 6304kbps, this was confirmed by a speed test I did, but I got back from work and now have had a look and it is connected at 4786kbps. Does this mean that the router syncs at what speed the line can handle because I was comfortably getting over 5mb speed and now it is just over 3mb. I probably will ring sky but have read that they will cap you on a lower speed.

      Is there anyway to maintain the same connection speed? Thanks

    9. #18
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Ask them to set the upload speed to 416kbps and this should sort it out so instead of putting it down they put it up and tell them that you do not want them to reduce your downstream speed and have you done a speed availibility check to see what your line can hold try this: https://www.adslchecker.bt.com/pls/a...hecker.welcome or
      Samknows Broadband - Availability checker

    10. #19
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      Personally if it was me I would buy a NTE5 off ebay
      and connect it directly to the incoming BT dropcable
      inside your home before any old junction box's,
      then have your router in that

      or if your not fused and its intermittent then call Sky at get your line
      capped but thats managing the problem instead of curing it.

    11. #20
      rocket12's Avatar
      rocket12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: slough main
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky broadband initial connection

      hi i did the speedcheck and it says my line can carry up to 2.5mb, but i was getting 5mb.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION