Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 46

    Sync Speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Sync Speed Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had sky activated on my line today. Im on the max package. With my last provider i was getting ...

    1. #1
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sync Speed Problems

      I've had sky activated on my line today. Im on the max package. With my last provider i was getting a sync speed of around 17mb. With sky im getting a sync speed of 8mb. I've called tech support and they say theirs nothing they can do because my like will only support 6mb!! Even though im getting 8mb now and have had 17mb+. They told me the only way i'll get more is from another provider!

      Has anyone else experienced this problem? I'de like to find a way of getting the real speed my lines capable of without moving to another provider again.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems


    4. #3
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8160 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 7 db

      Do you need anything else?

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      i was connected monday at 8mb contacted sky was told it was based on what Bt say your line can support, BT will only quote figures for their own lines and make no allowances for LLU systems which offer a higher grade signal (or so i believe in layman terms) bt quoted my max at 2.5mbps so sky put me on 8mb was getting na average of 6mb sometimes 7mb
      got cst to up my connection to adsl2+

      try getting hold of mrstabby on this forum he can do wonders

      best of luck Gordon

    6. #5
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by nodrog View Post
      i was connected monday at 8mb contacted sky was told it was based on what Bt say your line can support, BT will only quote figures for their own lines and make no allowances for LLU systems which offer a higher grade signal (or so i believe in layman terms) bt quoted my max at 2.5mbps so sky put me on 8mb was getting na average of 6mb sometimes 7mb
      got cst to up my connection to adsl2+

      try getting hold of mrstabby on this forum he can do wonders

      best of luck Gordon
      Whats cst? i've just been calling skys broadband tech number, is their a better dept i can talk to?

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      when you first phone you get through to tier 1 customer support it was then passed to tier 2 then tier 3 if problems persisted but tier 2 and 3 have now become customer service team or cst you have to plead with tier 1 to raise a ticket and wait your turn cst will usually phone you back

      just tell tier 1 your connection is slow and need cst to up connection speed

      best of luck

    8. #7
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by nodrog View Post
      when you first phone you get through to tier 1 customer support it was then passed to tier 2 then tier 3 if problems persisted but tier 2 and 3 have now become customer service team or cst you have to plead with tier 1 to raise a ticket and wait your turn cst will usually phone you back

      just tell tier 1 your connection is slow and need cst to up connection speed

      best of luck
      Thanks for your help. After another round of me insisting my line is capable of more than 6mb i've finally got a CST ref number, i was told they'll contact me within 24 hours.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      won't be 24hrs, try 72hrs at least...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      won't be 24hrs, try 72hrs at least...
      Im gonna call them back tomorrow and try get through to CST again. I've ordered my mac and if they haven't sorted this issue before it arrives ill be leaving.

    11. #10
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      (CST) means customer solutions team and if you hold you can be put through to them and get the problem sorted quicker.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION