Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 46

    Sync Speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Sync Speed Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ^^ thats funny, i thought sky ONLY used interleave (did not think they do fastpath)...

    1. #31
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      ^^ thats funny, i thought sky ONLY used interleave (did not think they do fastpath)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by trice View Post
      Does anyone know if interleaving is on by default with sky? If it is is it possible to have it switched off?

      yes it is and they can change you to fastpath but you would have to get the right person in cst some of them will not do it for you as it can make the connection unstable.

    4. #33
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    5. #34
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Yeh they use interleaving but they can change it as i said before but they might not.

    6. #35
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      i thought thats what the max delays was all about ?

    7. #36
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      yeh but it is very unstable as there is no error correction thats why they prefer to change max delays instead.

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Maybe a little work on your internal wiring will get your speed up a bit. The Sky service seems to be very temperamental and many need to do this to get the best from their connection.

      @Jonny, I did think that an upload of 768 indicated G.DMT and 764, ADSL2+?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Hi Isitme.
      You are right about wiring, we may well see a lot more of this once BT roll out their ADSL2+.

    10. #39
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      @Jonny, I did think that an upload of 768 indicated G.DMT and 764, ADSL2+?
      No this is not the case your upload can be set to 768 on adsl2+ and vise versa. and adsl2+ never trains in at the speed it is configured to thats why itis so unpredictable i could configure a line to run at 16000kbps but it could only train in at 15000kbps.

    11. #40
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      It must be coincidence then, that all the Adsl2+ stats shown on the forum have, almost without exception, a 764 upload and G.DMT 768. It is very noticeable, especially when a user succeeds in getting upgraded to ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION