Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 46

    Sync Speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Sync Speed Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeh thats bull....

    1. #21
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Yeh thats bull.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Called again and acted daft, and they put me through to CST!

      My new line starts are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11074 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 18 db

      Better than what i was getting, but not better than my old provider. I used to get a downstream speed of around 17000 with a noise margin of 6 or 7. What could cause this to be less on sky? their modem or equipment at the exchange? I've kept all the same cabling and microfilters at my end.

      Thanks for all your help.

    4. #23
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      maybe your line has been damaged in the switch over.

    5. #24
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Just used my old router, and got very similar stats. The fact that my sync speeds lost around 5000kbps must be due to something in the exchange. I wonder if i moved back to my old provider would it go back up?

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      are you that bothered?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Not if something has been damaged.anyway 11meg is a good speed.

    8. #27
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Im downloading files at 1mb as opposed to the 1.4mb i was used to so its not too bad. Plus its 8 quid cheaper and convenient to have all bills into one. I'll see how it goes over the next few days and if i have no more probs ill stick with it.

    9. #28
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Hopefully you do not have anymore problems then.

    10. #29
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Does anyone know if interleaving is on by default with sky? If it is is it possible to have it switched off?

    11. #30
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      I believe sky do not use interleaving.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION