Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 46

    Sync Speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Sync Speed Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by trice ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 8160 kbps 160 kbps Line Attenuation 30 db 8 db ...

    1. #11
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by trice View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8160 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 7 db

      Thanks.
      can you reboot the router and see what your upstream goes too ?
      160 looks wrong to me


      PS> do you really have the V1 router (White) ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      can you reboot the router and see what your upstream goes too ?
      160 looks wrong to me


      PS> do you really have the V1 router (White) ?

      Its at:
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps

      Now. Is this ADSL1? I should be on ADSL2+ to get the 16mb right?

    4. #13
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      The reason richone54 wants you to reboot the router is so that the router gets a chance to adjust to the noise on the line as your noise margin for upload is very low lower than it should be there for you are not getting the correct upload speed.But when you reboot the router it negotiates with the dyslam in the exchange to give you the best possible sync speed and giving you better noise protection so that you get the best speed.And you cannot judge weather you are on g.dmt or adsl2+ by the upload speed.

    5. #14
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      ^^ yes and no, i was just wondering what would cause the upstream to be so low ? did not know if it would be a line problem.

      Trice, have you spoken to CST or just T1 ?

    6. #15
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      ^^ yes and no, i was just wondering what would cause the upstream to be so low ? did not know if it would be a line problem.

      Trice, have you spoken to CST or just T1 ?
      Just T1, who have opened a ticket and given me a CST ref number. They said CST will call me within 24 hours. Im gonna call them tomorrow and if they tell me CST are 'busy' again i'll ask to be put on hold.

    7. #16
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      try calling now and see if you can get through, it has been said that just before 11pm is a better time, but its worth a try

    8. #17
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      yeh the best time to phone is early morning between 8am and 9am and in the evening between 10pm and 11pm and tier 1 do not need to keep you on hold they can put you in the cue.

    9. #18
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      and if you wait till jonny is on, you may get a higher upload speed
      Last edited by richone54; 04-04-08 at 12:52 AM. Reason: more bad smelling

    10. #19
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Ha Ha very funny lol

    11. #20
      trice's Avatar
      trice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Speed Problems

      Just called again. Now their saying thats theres not any open tickets on my account so i cant speak to customer solutions. Went through the exact same conversation as yesterday. apparently my line can only handle 6mb, i asked why when i was with Be 36 hours ago it could handle 17mb and apparently when i switched to sky they changed the line and started using a different one that can only handle 6mb.

      Is this probably bull?

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION