Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

    This is a discussion on My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am hoping that someone out there can give me a bit of help I have been a sky BB ...

    1. #1
      Barnstabule's Avatar
      Barnstabule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hartlepool
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Hartlepool
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      I am hoping that someone out there can give me a bit of help

      I have been a sky BB customer for about 13 months and have not had too many issues, up until yesterday...

      I am pretty far from the exchange (60.0 db Line Attenuation) so I haven't been getting incredible speeds, but I have always got a stable down sync of around 3000kbps. However I fired up my PC yesterday morning and couldn't get out online, so I connected to the router to see what the stats were like and the Noise Margin was 1db @ 3008kbps! Thinking it was something wrong with the router, I rebooted it and since then it refuses to sync at anything higher than 2240 kbps. As it turns out, this is the least of my worries

      I am now getting around 9-25% packet loss while pinging UK servers and SpeedTest reports my download @ 45k. The internet is pretty unusable for me at the minute (getting to be able to complete this post has taken about 20 minutes)

      Additioanl Details:
      The router is connected to the Master Socket, using a ADSL nation replacement frontplate, I have tried the test socket, and a spare microfilter, but this hasn't helped, neither has multiple reboots

      I have used the BT automated fault finding system, but it reports that there is not a fault on the line

      My router stats are as follows (I don't know how to read these properly, but from other posts I have seen the CRC and ES values are not good)

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2240 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 12.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.2 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 2560 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 2240 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 71(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 63 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2500 8.6153
      L: 512 208
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 359279 359277
      SFErr: 215446 16
      RS: 12215504 3053854
      RSCorr: 8758475 44
      RSUnCorr: 640888 0

      HEC: 139380 20
      OCD: 0 2
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 32032363 0
      Data Cells: 81431 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8422 0
      SES: 8421 0
      UAS: 643 0
      Total time = 4 hours 22 min 10 sec
      SF = 858765
      CRC = 517298
      LOS = 433786
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8422
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 22 min 10 sec
      SF = 858765
      CRC = 517298
      LOS = 433786
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8422
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 10 sec
      SF = 25348
      CRC = 15268
      LOS = 15798
      LOF = 0
      ES = 251
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 29126
      LOS = 32923
      LOF = 0
      ES = 417
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 31004
      LOS = 33709
      LOF = 0
      ES = 449
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 32150
      LOS = 34117
      LOF = 0
      ES = 468
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 31087
      LOS = 34040
      LOF = 0
      ES = 463

      Any help or advice would be greatly appriciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      What version of firmware is the router runnin ? As you probably know Sky are in the process of upgrading the fw on the V1 and others have reported having to reboot the router the morning after being upgraded. It would be interesting to see if this has anything to do with your problem.
      Last edited by dholdi; 03-04-08 at 02:16 PM.


    4. #3
      Barnstabule's Avatar
      Barnstabule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hartlepool
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Hartlepool
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      Firmware Version: V1.02.28

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      could you post some stats from the test socket

      Edit: and as you thought, your stats are very bad.

      while you have the faceplate off, plug a corded phone into the socket, dial 17070, then option 2. this is a quite line test and you should hear no hiss/crackles/pops (
      Last edited by richone54; 03-04-08 at 06:55 PM.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      Mmm - not that then as thats the old version of the fw. If the stats dont change much errors wise in the test socket then I would guess at the problem being somewhere on the line external to your property. When you try the test socket make sure you leave it in for a similar period of time to get an accurate comparison.


    7. #6
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      Quote Originally Posted by Barnstabule View Post
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2240 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 12.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.2 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 2560 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 2240 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 71(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 63 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2500 8.6153
      L: 512 208
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 359279 359277
      SFErr: 215446 16
      RS: 12215504 3053854
      RSCorr: 8758475 44
      RSUnCorr: 640888 0

      HEC: 139380 20
      OCD: 0 2
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 32032363 0
      Data Cells: 81431 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8422 0
      SES: 8421 0
      UAS: 643 0
      Total time = 4 hours 22 min 10 sec
      SF = 858765
      CRC = 517298
      LOS = 433786
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8422
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 22 min 10 sec
      SF = 858765
      CRC = 517298
      LOS = 433786
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8422
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 10 sec
      SF = 25348
      CRC = 15268
      LOS = 15798
      LOF = 0
      ES = 251
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 29126
      LOS = 32923
      LOF = 0
      ES = 417
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 31004
      LOS = 33709
      LOF = 0
      ES = 449
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 32150
      LOS = 34117
      LOF = 0
      ES = 468
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 31087
      LOS = 34040
      LOF = 0
      ES = 463

      not good it will be intresting to see what your stats are when you have the upgrade.

    8. #7
      Barnstabule's Avatar
      Barnstabule is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hartlepool
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Hartlepool
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      Hi again.

      I have an update!

      Thankyou for the advice and things to try. The line was clear as a bell on a corded phone, and to rub salt in the wound those stas were taken from the test socket


      Anyway I decided that today I was going to try to emlinate the router from the problem, so I hunted around the garage for a spare ADSL2 router I have, and turned on the Netgear again to get the User/Password. Fired up the PC and the router had connected at 3450, same Noise margin, zero packet loss and everything is back to normal.

      I wish I knew what had gone wrong, I haven't changed anything since my last post as I haven't been at home, and suddenly everything appears to be working again


      I shall continue to monitor it and see what happens, but things are looking good

      Thanks again for your time and advice

    9. #8
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      Glad to hear it.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My Sky BB appears to have crippled itself

      It is possible that BTO were working on your line, or one very close to it, and inadvertently caused the error rate to rise. Work complete, things returned to normal. The only way you will know for sure is to keep monitoring the line and watch for a steep rise in the error rate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION