Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    web browsing now abysmal

    This is a discussion on web browsing now abysmal within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Unplugged it a few times of late as been trying (unsuccessfully) to get my PS3 to see a library ...

    1. #11
      Ashcrapper's Avatar
      Ashcrapper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton-le-willows - 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      Hi,

      Unplugged it a few times of late as been trying (unsuccessfully) to get my PS3 to see a library on my PC. Connects to the net ok through the router wired or wirelessly but just refuses to see my PC. That however is another story

      Connection is currently into one of those white box thingie that you put the modem in one side, phone in the other then it connects to the master socket. Only got one socket enabled in the house.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      Something very serious has happened to your connection. With almost 100% CRC errors, it is a wonder it is working at all. Just to totally eliminate internal faults, remove the faceplate from your Master socket and plug in to the Test socket. I am almost certain that there will be very little difference, but it is better to be sure. It is strange that you have such good sync with a good SNR and yet so many errors.

      The fault maybe with your external phone line. You can check if there is any obvious fault by plugging a corded phone into the Test socket and dialling one digit. The line should be absolutely clear with no hissing popping, clicking, or any other noise. If you do hear noise, report it to BT as a noisy line. Do not mention Sky Broadband or they will do nothing.

      There is also a chance that the router has developed a fault, but this is difficult to check unless you have another router to try.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Ashcrapper's Avatar
      Ashcrapper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton-le-willows - 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      Took the faceplate off and ive plugged the splitter straight into the socket. Obviously got phone/adsl in the relevant sockets in the splitter.

      (clutching at straws) Could the wiring/splitter/port on router or anything like that be causing this perhaps?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      The connection to your PC has nothing to do with the router stats, these are purely between the router and the exchange. You could try another filter, but I doubt if that could account for the amount of errors you have. I am coming round more to the idea that the router is faulty. Did you try the phone for noise? I don't know if any of the more knowledgeable bods like NR or James, are following this thread, maybe they have an idea what is happening but these are the worst 24 hr stats I have ever seen-
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      ..SF = 5337803
      CRC = 5317209
      LOS = 62
      LOF = 0
      .ES = 86151

      Post your stats from the Test socket after a few hours

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Ashcrapper's Avatar
      Ashcrapper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton-le-willows - 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      left the router unplugged for an hour or so and then ran the test again:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.7 12.0
      Attn(dB): 21.5 12.3
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18444 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 9944 9942
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 1292724 84507
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5819580 289423
      Data Cells: 469287 40297
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 4759
      Total time = 3 min 0 sec
      SF = 9944
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 3 min 0 sec
      SF = 9944
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 0 sec
      SF = 9944
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      Browsing seems lot quicker and it downloaded from newsgroup at 1550kb

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      3 minutes uptime is not really enough to tell you anything, but the complete lack of errors is encouraging. Run it in the Test socket for about 24 hours, then take the stats again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Ashcrapper's Avatar
      Ashcrapper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton-le-willows - 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: web browsing now abysmal

      yeh thought that after id posted actually

      thanks for all the help by the way

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION