Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

    This is a discussion on Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme Try plugging a corded phone direct to the Test socket and dial one digit to remove ...

    1. #21
      hardeepr's Avatar
      hardeepr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alvaston
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: HH5
      Sky TV: SkyD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try plugging a corded phone direct to the Test socket and dial one digit to remove the dial tone. The line should be dead quiet, with no pops, clicks, hisses or other noise. If there is any noise, report it to BT as a noisy line and they may be able to do something about it. If you do contact BT do not mention Sky broadband, or they will do nothing.

      If there is no noise on the line at all, there is not much you can do except phone Sky and report a dropping connection. There may be other opinions, so unless your line is noisy, wait for someone to post before you phone Sky.

      You can also try the quiet line test. Dial 17070 and choose option 2.

      I had a similar problem with my Virgin ADSL connection - lots of connection drops. I listened to the phone after one particularly bad 20 minute stint and heard a lot of noise. (Checking over several days the noise was random and often not there.)

      Anyhow I did contact BT about the line noise and mentioned the broadband issue without it causing any issues. In fact the the BT guy said even if there a specific broadband only problem Virgin would probably insist that BT Openreach resolve the random line noise first anyway.


      Over the Easter weekend Openreach visited me twice - first time they fitted a master socket but couldn't find the source of the noise. Things got worse on Saturday so BT arranged for Openreach to check the external wiring. They came around Tuesday afternoon and because of the random nature heard no noise again. I mentioned a possible weather link so one of them got a rod with a hook and gave the line a shake - they described it as a "wind simulator" - and the noise was unbelievable. 90 minutes later they had fitted a new cable. They showed me the old one - it had just about split - and were amazed I was getting a signal at all.

      I have to say I was very pleased with the service. I had been considering to go to Virginmedia's cable service but decided stay with BT as a result. (I'm trying to get Sky Max but that's proving to be a struggle since their computer won't accept my MAC number for some reason - it's now been escalated and being handled by CST.)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      CST dont deal with provisoning issues...

      it might be with 'T3' provisioning but if you've been told it's with CST then that's wrong - they're support for ACTIVE connections/...
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 02-04-08 at 06:41 PM.
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #23
      hardeepr's Avatar
      hardeepr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alvaston
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: HH5
      Sky TV: SkyD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      CST dont deal with provisoning issues...

      it might be with 'T3' provisioning but if you've been told it's with CST then that's wrong - they're support for ACTIVE connections/...
      My bad - I probably misheard during the phonecall and incorrectly recalled it as CST due its regular mention on this forum. Thanks for the correction.

    5. #24
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      np - just hope it is being dealt with by provisioning and not CST as it'll be a waste of time...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #25
      Pablo79's Avatar
      Pablo79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      tried the phone line last night - dialled number 1 and listened, no hiss to report

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      Unfortunately it looks like you will have to phone Sky and report a dropping connection. They will cap your connection to a lower speed which should stabilize the line and prevent the drop-outs. With your attenuation, your line would have to be perfect to sync at over 7000kbps and still be stable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      Pablo79's Avatar
      Pablo79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      I'd take a reasonably slower connection if it meant I could use it without dropouts, usually get around 7mbps which is decent enough - and certainly better than my previous provider (2-3mbps with TTalk).

      how low do you think they'll suggest in capping it too

      anyone know how long it will take for me to go through all this with Sky - for them to come to this conclusion of capping the line?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      usually get around 7mbps
      That is why I suggested it is too fast for your line. You would normally only get this stable on G.DMT with an attenuation of about 40 or under.

      Getting past the script readers on T1 is the difficult part. When you get past them to the CST, they should fix it in minutes. If they are not too busy, they will spend some time with you and get the best stable speed they can. If they are very busy they may just whack it right down to be sure it is stable. What speed this will be is almost impossible to say.
      Last edited by Isitme; 03-04-08 at 04:50 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Pablo79's Avatar
      Pablo79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      I will call them tonight and let you know how I get on. Thanks for the advice

    11. #30
      karthik67's Avatar
      karthik67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Disconnection Problems with Sky Max

      Hi,
      I am using sky mid and for first two days my connection worked perfect and fast. since then frequent disconnection is a routine. we have tested every posssible angles, changed router, tested on test socket still the same problem persists. I am posting the stats what i have got

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4384 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.9 db 14.0 db

      can some one throw some light as to where the problem could be. I used a thompson router for a few days. somehow i seem to hold the connection far better than the netgear 834GT or the 934G

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION