Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Just Joined Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Just Joined Sky Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone, Just joined Sky today and ordered Sky max broadband very happy. I also wasn't charged a one off ...

    1. #1
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Just Joined Sky Broadband

      Hi everyone,

      Just joined Sky today and ordered Sky max broadband very happy. I also wasn't charged a one off payment for joining. I thought I would have to pay 30 for it!

      I do have one quick question. I would rather set the router up manually than install it via a CD is this essential?

      Thanks

      Pdog


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      I joined 1 month ago and had to pay 30 setup fee,always unlucky me.

      Never used the cd did it all manual,no probs.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      no need for the CD (unless you would like the macaffe) you should be able to plug in and away you go

    5. #4
      Pdog's Avatar
      Pdog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      Thanks for your quick replies.

      Good news about the CD, Some useful posts on here which I'll read. When I called to check regarding the setup fee he said as your taking max there is no setup charge, I assume it must of been a promotion.

    6. #5
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      i got connected yesterday connected router with yellow lan cable switched on and everything was up and running, entered network key for wireless and all ok

      i am also on max but download connection is only at 8160kbps not up to 16mb as promised will have to contact sky but apart from that getting between 5 and 7 meg which after 1mb connection is fast

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      Hi Nodrog.
      If you only got 1meg before there may be a good reason you are not getting 16meg. Have you checked out your wiring? can you post up your line stats

    8. #7
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      I was on 8160kbps too first few days til SKY tweaked my settings. Don't fret.

      Do please contact SKY......just tell Tier 1 your speed is slow. Don't elaborate in too much detail.

      Go thru the motions of checking what they want you to check and be patient.
      Then hopefully you can get them motivated to put you thru to C.S.T dept. it's a ticket system so they might call you back etc. Might take a while but it's worth it.

      Where hopfully they will uncap you and see what higher speeds your line can SAFELY hold without going all 'wobbly'. LOL

      Your wiring distance from the exchange and noise on your line should dictate what portion of 16megs you can get. But 8160kbps is typical of a line that has been switched on...but needs settings tweaked.

      If your wiring is over 3-4km from exchange (not 'as the crow flies') you're obviously not going to get the same broadband speeds as someone who's 1-2km from the exchange. Keep this in consideration.
      Some people also have noisier lines than others.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

    9. #8
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      my last message was fro Nodrog BTW. Sorry .LOL
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

    10. #9
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 22:05:23

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7657 11671 0 59 527 07:53:42
      LAN 100M/Full 9399 0 0 15 0 22:05:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 2142839 2724594 0 16468 38117 17:55:34
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8160 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 7 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 14 db
      was only getting 1 meg before because that was the package i was on with previous isp was with eclipse flex 1000 it was unlimited so didnt change to any of the upto 8mb packages because they had caps i live aprox 1km from exchange or .75km as crow flyes
      Last edited by nodrog; 01-04-08 at 06:07 PM.

    11. #10
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just Joined Sky Broadband

      The 8160kbps downstream and especially the 768kbps UPstream in your stats....indicates you are on G.dMT setting where 8megs is the max.

      This sometimes happens when you are first on MAX I've been told.

      The 768kbps is the upload speed for GDMT. Contact SKY...and eventually you (if you're line can handle it) will be moved to ADSL2+ (up to 16megs). Which is 764kbps.

      I had this EXACT problem first day. Please contact SKY. Trust me...they'll sort this.

      But only if SKY deem you're line capable.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION