Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just like the last version of iTunes (6.1) causing people to get a low virtual memory warning. (Install the newer ...

    1. #1
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Just like the last version of iTunes (6.1) causing people to get a low virtual memory warning. (Install the newer update that iTunes sent out to fix it). People thought their PCs were broken etc.

      Now it seems that the last update to Firefox version 2.0.0.13...has the same problem with Firefox going from fine to 'not responding' every couple of minutes.

      I reinstalled Firefox 2.0.0.12 and the problem has stopped.

      So any Sky Broadband users....using Firefox as their browser...if you have the latest Firefox 13....uninstall it and put in 12.

      This prior version can be found on filehippo.com - Download Free Software.

      Until Firefox send out an update to fix this 2.0.0.13.

      The update sent thru up to mid march must have a glitch in it. There's reference to this on the net if you look up Firefox browser not responding.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Couldn't find it on the link you gave. Here's one direct to Mozilla

      Windows Version

      ftp.osuosl.org :: Oregon State University Open Source Lab




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Does the glitch refer to XP, Vista or both. I'm running 2.00.13 with no problems as yet?
      The only trouble I've had with Apple is them wanting me to try Safari, but i've downloaded it,tried it, deleted it (what a load of!)


    5. #4
      pairyhenis's Avatar
      pairyhenis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Thanks for the heads up

      This was driving me nuts last night!

    6. #5
      Cardiff2008's Avatar
      Cardiff2008 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff Empire
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Does the glitch refer to XP, Vista or both. I'm running 2.00.13 with no problems as yet?
      I run 2.0.0.13 on machines with Vista and with XP and have no problems.....strange!?!?!?!
      The hardest journey you will make is meeting people half way!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      vista/FF fine for me also...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      No problems here either, running Vista XP and 2000!

      Are you sure your Firewall is not causing the problem? Most firewalls will block new programs until you allow them, unfortunately sometimes they don't even tell you they are blocking. Norton and Kaperskys are very guilty of this and often do not stop when you disable them. You should should check that Firefox 2.0.0.13 is specifically allowed access. It may be necessary to delete Firefox from the 'Allowed' list and force it to recheck when you reconnect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      mj_asylum's Avatar
      mj_asylum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carrickfergus
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      It must only be affecting certain specs of PCs. I'm XP.

      It is affecting a fair volume of people.
      That site filehippo.com - Download Free Software, if you go to Firefox 2.0.0.13 under BROWSERS. Click it and see all the past versions on the right hand side. Click 2.0.0.12....and notice the blue words have changed to "download THIS version" rather than "download LATEST version".

      I know this may not affect EVERYONE. But I know enough that it's affecting different people just like the last iTunes muck-up with iTunes 6.1.

      And "not responding" will drive you nuts..and make you think your PC is to blame.
      iTunes said "low virtual memory" when you opened it. You uninstalled the 6.1...put in 6.0 and moved your library before you did that. Problem solved.

      Both times these problems have appeared on the net on mass. If this wee message helps a few people. Great.
      Sammy Davis Jr: "When God made me He took one step back and hit me up the face with a shovel."

    10. #9
      Cardiff2008's Avatar
      Cardiff2008 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cardiff Empire
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      Just been to that Site you mentioned in your last post. It shows 2.0.0.13 as latest version which is downloadable from top of List. It also shows Betas 4, 3, 2 and 1 together with many other versions of Firefox (including 2.0.0.12) all of which are denoted as 'old' versions?

      I must be missing something because I couldn't find any 'Download THIS version' in respect of 2.0.0.12?? Although the Site is headed as Firefox 2.0.0.12, the only reference to 'Download THIS version points to version 2.0.0.13 The link under the page heading (2.0.0.12) takes you to Mozilla's page where 2.0.0.13 is waiting!

      I take your point about software causing you to tear your hair out sometimes but this just 'might' be a Firewall problem. There is no mention of problems on the official Firefox site which is 'usually' the case if a patch is needed??


      EDIT:

      I now see where you're coming from. Although the 'Download This version' points to version 2.0.0.13 (latest) the link lets you download 2.0.0.12. I would suggest that is a Site glitch - link hasn't been changed as there is no mention of problems there with 2.0.0.13

      Must admit, it isn't a Site I use as I always get my version of Firefox from official Mozilla Site.
      Last edited by Cardiff2008; 01-04-08 at 05:07 PM.
      The hardest journey you will make is meeting people half way!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Users and Firefox 2.0.0.13.

      There is also the possibility that it is a server problem. Are you using the Sky servers?

      I must say I can't find any recent reports of 'Firefox browser not responding', most of the ones that come up are weeks, if not months old. If you substitute IE for Firefox you will get over 1,800,000 hits, compared with 54,000 for FF, which may tell you something

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION