Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Drop in speed

    This is a discussion on Drop in speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Been a Sky BB user for over 12 months now. I am on Max package - have been getting ...

    1. #1
      griolfc's Avatar
      griolfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Drop in speed

      Hi

      Been a Sky BB user for over 12 months now. I am on Max package - have been getting speeds of 3.5mb which I have been happy with as I was only getting about 1.5mb from previous supplier and I know I live a fair distance from the exchange.

      However, over the past week or so I have noticed a drop in speed. I have rebooted router a number of times but can only seem to get a maximum speed of 896kb after a reboot.

      Have not made any changes to PC/wiring so am a bit confused why the sudden drop now.

      Has anyone else experience this recently?

      Any suggestions/advice would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      could you post some router stats
      Last edited by richone54; 29-03-08 at 01:20 AM. Reason: removed naff sentence

    4. #3
      griolfc's Avatar
      griolfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      Stats as requested:

      System Up Time 47:49:06
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 307007 330841 0 1089 3080 19:20:01
      LAN 10M/100M 1226314 980343 0 8234 929 47:49:04
      WLAN 11M/54M 862736 782216 0 3237 874 47:48:54


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 896 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 13.0 db



      Thanks

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      i know you said in your first post that you had changed nothing with your set up
      could you confirm where you plug the router into (is it onto an extention / main socket / test socket)

      if you have been using an extention, would it be possible to do a test from the "test" socket behind the faceplate of your master socket (see first link in my sig) and post back with the stats

    6. #5
      griolfc's Avatar
      griolfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      Thanks for a quick response. The socket is the master socket and I am already plugged into the test socket of the master (had some issues before leaving Plusnet to Sky and have never bothered patching it back together).

      All extension sockets have been disconnected since I had the problems with Plusnet.

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      could you try another of the filters ( i think sky send out 3)
      post back the stats

      if your results are no better, try a quiet line test by plugging a corded phone into the test socket (no filter or bb) ring 17070 option 2, if you here any crckling/hiss/pops you may have to phone BT and report a line fault

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      Hi Griolfc.
      What were the problems you had with Plusnet?.
      It is possible they were never resolved. As you operate from the test socket, I will assume you have no extension sockets (If you do check that there is no dial tone at any of them). Have you tried a replacement filter?.
      Is there noise on your line when you use a normal wired phone? (kill the dial tone with a single dialed digit and all you should hear is a low hiss) If there is noise then report this to BT.
      You are not supposed to do this, but check the connections to A and B at the back of the master, also at any junction boxes between the entry of the line and the master.

    9. #8
      griolfc's Avatar
      griolfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Simonswood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      richone54 and Brian69

      Thanks for your advice. I have tried a replacement filter as you both suggested and stats are as follows:

      System Up Time 00:04:02
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 839 854 0 1428 3666 00:02:34
      LAN 10M/100M 1464 1411 0 3662 1301 00:04:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 110 0 0 107 0 00:03:50


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2528 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.0 db


      I am now getting 2.5mb. I will keep an eye on things over the next week and see if that remains constant.

      Brian - the Plusnet problems were also a drop in speed and the need to reboot the router on at least a daily basis. I ended up getting BT out to investigate. They couldn't find a problem, they thought if anything it would be internal wiring (the BT line - grey box - comes into the garage, a lead then runs through the hall to the master box into the room where the router is located) but "that's not their problem".

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Drop in speed

      Hi Griolfc.
      Well thats a bit better, hope it turns out to be the filter. If I were you I would hang the master onto the incoming line just to see what the sync was like there. If it was much better, then I would see about re-locating it and the router there. However I do understand that this may not be practical in you home. If you do try this, all the previous BT stuff applies so don't get caught.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION