Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

    This is a discussion on 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; sorry to jump into the thread, Matt while you have the test socket in use, could you just check any ...

    1. #21
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      sorry to jump into the thread, Matt while you have the test socket in use, could you just check any extentions you have do not have a dial tone


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      Hi Mattyg.
      Do you have any extension sockets? and if you do, do they stop working when you have the test socket of the master exposed. With the test socket exposed, there should be no dial tone at any other sockets.

    4. #23
      mattyg29's Avatar
      mattyg29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aston Common
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      There is only the master socket in the house.

    5. #24
      mattyg29's Avatar
      mattyg29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aston Common
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      Since my last post I have been disconnected and reconnected at the speeds below

      Connection Speed: Downstream 6656 kbps -- Upstream 64 kbps
      Line Attenuation: Downstream 17db -- Upstream 5db
      Noise Margin: Downstream 18db -- Upstream 7db

      This is my second day with sky and it's being a blast, has someone been watching the line today, why would it suddenly change to a lower speed from my original 8mb speed?

      Thanks for the previous replys

      Matt

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      I would say you have been put back on G.DMT and been further capped.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      When you use the phone, do you notice any noise ?(crackles or pops that sort of thing)

    8. #27
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would say you have been put back on G.DMT and been further capped.
      …although that 7dB upstream noise margin seems a bit odd, given the upstream attenuation and the upstream sync speed. You'd have though the upstream noise margin would be huge if it had been capped to 64kbit/sec on this line.

    9. #28
      mattyg29's Avatar
      mattyg29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aston Common
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      our phone line when connected has always been clear.

      I have been disconnected and reconnected again.

      Connection Speed: Downstream 10347 kbps -- Upstream 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation: Downstream 20db -- Upstream 5db
      Noise Margin: Downstream 7db -- Upstream 14db

      the connection speeds have now changed to higher values

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      I think someone at Sky is sitting flicking a switch back and forward, just to annoy you.
      I suppose it is possible the wild fluctuations are caused by BTO working on or near your line or in the exchange. It might be better to give it a few days before you phone Sky, although it is also possible someone there is working on your connection at the moment, trying to improve it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      mattyg29's Avatar
      mattyg29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aston Common
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st Day of SKY Max....my stats are low...

      Thanks for that, the latter I would question but the 10mb value has gone higher from the original.

      I wont bother phoning sky again, i'll stick to email, and for anyone else regarding g.dmt and adsl2 + setting in my opinion email them (if you can), and be persistent, it only took me 2 emails to get my answer and it was free.

      Thanks to everyone who has replied to me, a great help, and a great forum.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION